Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
These were delicious! I made homemade Vienna rolls (Joy of Cooking -- these are the best!) and used reduced fat feta and couldn't tell the difference at all. I didn't want to bother mixing the mayo and garlic in case I got too much mayo so I just spread a little minced garlic right on the sandwich. Unfortunately a recent bout of hail all but destroyed my basil, so we skipped it. I typically try to keep things healthy -- you know, replace oil with applesauce, white flour with home-ground whole wheat, etc. etc., but I am still a southern girl so I have an admission to make: I fried my eggplant. (After dipping in egg and then in flour). This was ONE GOOD SANDWICH! Sadly, it was only after the fact that I remembered that I actually have baked eggplant as an alternative to frying (Eggplant Parmesan) and it was still delicious, so next time I will bake this and see how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe was really good. I made a few changes because I do not like mayo I I mixed olive oil, garlic and balsamic vinegar and lightly spread it over wheat flat bread instead of a hoggie roll. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vejigante

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Really a nice meatless treat, I grilled my eggplant on a penne grill and ended up grilling the whole thing, really, thank so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
A fast, yummy, easy vegetarian sandwich, works for me! I did a striped peel on the eggplant, then lowered my broiler rack because I think it would have burned within the 10 minutes. I served it with provolone on wheat bread, that's what was on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was great. Very important to sweat the eggplant first. I grilled mine on a george foreman, added grilled red peppers and alfalfa sprouts! This is my new go to veggie sandwich, thank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This sandwhich is quick & easy to make. Since I love eggplant, I double layered my eggplants. I also used wheat roll. Great with soup and/or chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were really really good. Very close to the UCI sandwiches they were modeled after. Easy too. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
You have to know how to handle eggplant. I placed slices on a cookie sheet and salted both sides and let them sit for at least 30 minutes. Then I took highly absorbent papertowel(youll need alot) and I pressed the eggplant between the paper towel with my palms. I wouldnt recommend over pressing because It does shrink the size of the eggplant alot and I preffer a little juiciness. But if you want them really meaty press itall out. I just salt them and eat them as a snack. I even chopped some the next morning and added it to some acrambled eggs covered in Mozzerella. You can pretty much use eggplant in place of meat in anything. In the summer I cut it in strips lengthwise and brush w/olive oil and chaopped garlic and grill it as a side dish. The possibility's are endless just dont forget to do the salt and sweat first. Good Basic Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angielovesdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I loved this! I breaded and baked my eggplant though b/c I thought I would like it better that way. I cut the eggplant into 1/4 inch slices and dipped them in a mix of 1 egg mixed with 1 T milk then dipped them in a mix of 1/2 cup plain breadcrumbs mixed with 2 T graded parmesan. Then baked them for about 25 minutes at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These were divine! I followed the recipe to a "T". I'm trying to get more involved in vegetarian cooking, so this will be a favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States