Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
fry the egg plant first, bread it and fry it....it will taste better...dip in egg and then breading .....that how italians eat it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maier Kalka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Last time I had eggplant I was seriously dissapointed so this time around I tried this recipe. I am trying to eat a little cleaner, so I brushed with olive oil, sprinkled with garlic. Instead of the mayonaise mixture I used wheat bread and put a little dijon on it. Followed the broil instructions, threw some tomato slices on it and it was a quick and easy sandwich that was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is a keeper for my family. I added spinach leaves and served in whole wheat rolls, YUM !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
My husband and I loved this sandwich! The tips for preparing the eggplant were very helpful. We peeled, sliced and salted the eggplant and let it sit for about an hour. Then we rinsed and patted it dry before lightly brushing the olive oil onto the slices and broiling them. I added creamy goat cheese instead of feta to mine and it was amazing! Also, one comment suggested briefly sauteing the garlic before adding it to the mayo. I tried this and it was a great flavor! Can't wait to make this again...maybe with fresh mozzarella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Quite possibly the best sandwich I have ever eaten. I made these so often after I first discovered the recipe that my family begged me to stop after serving it three times in one week. The eggplant should be salted, rested, and pressed as previously noted. Absolutely saute the garlic before placing it in the Mayo and let them sit for a few hours in the fridge so the flavors meld. The garlic Mayo makes this recipe. The added feta cheese is perfect. I add some coarsely chopped romaine before serving and always serve on a dark bun. This sandwich is really worthy of your attention!!! Yes, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Excellent! Used provolone cheese and added lettuce. Broiled for 10 minutes, flipping once halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Super good and easy to make. I added a touch of hot sauce to the garlic mayo. My husband loved it! I also added roasted red peppers and raw red onion to give it a little crunch. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. My husband had one and liked it too - despite telling me no when I asked him if he wanted one before I made it. The feta really tops it off great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
WOW this sandwich was truly amazing!! only changes I made was I used focaccia and vegeanise instead of the french rolls and mayo. Thanks for the recipe! Dave, Personal Trainer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Great use for eggplant and not the same ol' eggplant/mozzarella combo. My husband's allergic to eggs, so I replaced the mayo with garlic butter, spread on the bread and then put under the grill right at the end. For the tang of mayo, I used a little squeeze of lemon over the eggplant. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBEAR1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States