Eggplant Rounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This is outstanding. Even people who normally do not like eggplant will enjoy these. The only change that I made was to spray them with olive oil PAM type spray and bake until done rather then fry them. Kayswv
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is a simple but tasty preparation that I'll definitely make again. I cut the eggplant thick -- about 3/4 inch. I also cooked some zucchini the same way, cut in third lengthwise (they were small zucchinis). I added some garlic powder to the cornmeal mix, and I baked instead of frying the vegetables. I cooked at 400 for about 40 minutes, using plenty of oil and flipping halfway through. I'm very satisfied with these; they go great with the stuffed shells I made for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
YUM! This is the best. I played around with this recipe a little and came up with the following. I mixed the cornmeal with some whole wheat flour, added chili powder, garlic salt and oregano. I dipped the eggplant slices in better than eggs then in the dry mixture. I baked these on a well oiled cookie sheet until done. If you cut these slices thick enough, they don't taste dry at all. The thicker ones were moist on the inside and nicely cruncy on the outside. I am so glad eggplant is on sale right now so I can make this again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe. I embellished the recipe by brushing them with olive oil and used Panko bread crumbs instead of cornmeal and baked on parchment paper @ 400 for 20 minutes, turning after 10. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a great eggplant recipe. Instead of frying, I baked them. I added 1 tsp seasoned salt, and 1/2 tsp tumeric to the coating. I also brushed the pieces with olive oil, then coated them. I placed them on a baking sheet lined with parcement paper. 400 degrees fo about 30-40 minutes, turning at the halfway point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I used olive oil, instead of veggie oil. I added flour and not just cornmeal and seasoning salt instead of chilli powder and oregano. It was a hit. I also caramelized an onion and served them with that on top as a side to spaghetti and marinara. So tasty. Hubby and I couldn't get enough, but the kids were too nervous about the egg part of eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I followed the breading recipe except I added an egg. I baked half and fried half, I loved the baked ones they were so good. Hubby however said the baked ones were too mushy, he liked the fried ones better. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I grilled this and it was super yummy. I plan to add it to pasta next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexykatmeow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I used garlic salt instead of regular salt. Wow, it packed a punch adn drew out the flavours. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I usually use bread crumbs but the cornmeal gave it an interesting flavor with a crisper coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States