Eggplant Rounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a great eggplant recipe. Instead of frying, I baked them. I added 1 tsp seasoned salt, and 1/2 tsp tumeric to the coating. I also brushed the pieces with olive oil, then coated them. I placed them on a baking sheet lined with parcement paper. 400 degrees fo about 30-40 minutes, turning at the halfway point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
The cornmeal added a great crunch to the outside of this fried eggplant. I had eggplant leftover from another recipe and was unsure what to do with it. This was a perfect "snack" for me and I ate the rounds with salsa for an added kick of spice. In addition to the chili powder and oregano, I added some adobo seasoned salt blend with a bit of turmeric to lend a nice golden color to the crust. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
These eggplants do taste very good and are very easy to make. Unfortunately, if you worry about your weight,they are not the healthiest option. They absorb a lot of oil and feel like a sponge full of fat when you eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
this was my first time ever cooking eggplant...being new to the cooking area I found this to be easy and very tasty... I added a few dashes of some garlic powder, Mrs Dash, pepper, and paprika. went over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Franklin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Boonville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This had a very nice smoky flavor when we grilled it... however, it was a bit dry. That was easily fixed by serving it with a little chipotle mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I grilled the eggplant instead of frying it-it was not bad. To help the breading stick to the eggplant, I dipped it into eggbeaters. I served with a horseradish sauce which gave it a good zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Really good. Instead of plain cornmeal I used Martha White Mexican Cornbread Mix, and fried in small amount of olive oil. Even my kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
YUM! This is the best. I played around with this recipe a little and came up with the following. I mixed the cornmeal with some whole wheat flour, added chili powder, garlic salt and oregano. I dipped the eggplant slices in better than eggs then in the dry mixture. I baked these on a well oiled cookie sheet until done. If you cut these slices thick enough, they don't taste dry at all. The thicker ones were moist on the inside and nicely cruncy on the outside. I am so glad eggplant is on sale right now so I can make this again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
better to fry so can get some moisture into eggplant. grilled is very dry and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This is outstanding. Even people who normally do not like eggplant will enjoy these. The only change that I made was to spray them with olive oil PAM type spray and bake until done rather then fry them. Kayswv
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States