Eggplant Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I didn't find this fast or easy as others said . I sweated the eggplant first . I also added roasted garlic and spinach to the ricotta mixture. It was fantastic. This is a great recipe that has alot of room to add and play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I've made this twice and really enjoy it. I made a lighter version the second time though. Instead of using a whole egg and frying it, I used a couple of eggwhites mixed with a little water. I dipped that in bread brumbs and put them under the broiler about 5 minutes per side on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray. It takes no extra time really. I also used part skim ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I didn't use the prosciutto. I added chopped spinach to the ricotta cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was wonderful! I am a huge eggplant rollatini fan but this was the first time I attempted it on my own and it turned out great - even my husband, who has never been an eggplant fan, loved it! The only change I made was to add some fresh basil to the ricotta. I also made my own basic sauce, lots of fresh basil and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was great! Instead of proscuitto, I mixed some cooked sausage (which I took out of the casing and browned on the stove) with the ricotta. I also added parsley to the ricotta. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
So great! I made it a point to "sweat" out the slices to rid the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Thanks for this recipe! I don't know why I never made this from scratch before! I usually make eggplant like Lasagna. I did not use Prosciutto. And I didn't peel the eggplant, I left the skin on. Also soaked it for a little bit first. I made a ricotta cheese mixture that I do for lasagna which is ricotta, egg, Italian Medley seasoning and shredded mozzarella...I mix it all together before spreading it on the eggplant. I think next time I'll add garlic powder to the bread crumbs and spinach to the ricotta mixture. I also want to broil it instead of fry it next time. Of course I use LOTS of shredded cheese on top! It was yummy! I'll be making this for my daughters 3rd B-day party in December rather than paying $35 for half tray for it from my local deli (but theirs is really good too). Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegvg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I can eat eggplant made this way. Even the kids ate it and liked it. I sweated it out with salt as suggested, added spinach, garlic S&P and nutmeg to the ricotta, had to make my own breadcrumbs and pasta sauce because i ran out. Kind of labor intensive though, not a great recipe for a weeknite without all the ingredients on hand premade. Probably took 1.5 hrs total for making 7 rolls. and you use more than 2 tbspn of EVOO to fry. Leftovers were good as well. had w/ brown rice. would make again for a weekend meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
very good recipe it is also good stuffed with meat using your favorite recipe for meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! I did make some healthy modifications and the recipe was still five stars so I thought I would share. First, I breaded the eggplant using panko bread crumbs and italian seasoning. Then, I broiled it instead of frying. It took about 5 minutes on each side (or until brown/crispy). Then I used low fat ricotta (which cuts the fat significantly). I did add some italian seasoning and about a 1/4 cup each of parmesan and asiago cheese to the ricotta for extra flavor (this added some fat, but increased the flavor- of course could leave it out also). I substituted fresh spinach for the prosciutto and instead of using jar sauce, I made up a quick sauce with just organic diced (for texture) and crushed tomatoes, lots of garlic and basil, salt, pepper to taste. Let it simmer while I was preparing the eggplant (about 30 minutes). The result was perfect. The eggplant retained it's form and didn't get mushy (one of my gripes about eggplant parmesan) and the flavors were wow! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States