Eggplant Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was delicious and pretty easy to make. I think basil or garlic are a good addition to the ricotta because it's a little bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Good and simple to make. I agree though that is is not fast. I don't sweat the eggplant using salt, I pan fry it with a little bit of oil on both sides and then add about two tbsp of water to the pan so that it evaporates and then cover the pan. Basically, I sweat it out in a different way. This takes a shorter amount of time than the 20 minute salt sweat and is much easier. Also I used seasoned panko instead of bread crumbs and did without the prosciutto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I absolutely love eggplant rollatini and this is the first time I have made this. I do not think I sweated the eggplant long enough because it was a little bitter. Next time I will sweat longer than 30 minutes. Also, I used a lot more EVOO and I do not think that the eggplant was cooked long enough. Recipe was good, I just need more practice! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
delicious! Used fat-free ricotta and spinach, mushroom, and garlic in the ricotta mixture. Broiled each eggplant slice under a broiler for 8 minutes on each side. Very good. Paired with tomato-cream sauce from this site and linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Great recipe! Used thinly sliced pancetta instead of prosciutto. I also used egg, parmesan, salt, peppper & garlic powder in my ricotta. My fiance loved it. Will definitely make again. I agree with other reviewers about sweating the eggplant. Wonderful meal to prepare on rainy Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rickalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fonda, New York, USA
Living In: Middleburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe for eggplant Rollatini. I agree about sweating the eggplant. Also - I think that the people who reviewed this recipe and were not happy with it or confused may not be familiar with "New York classic Italian" dishes. This is pretty spot on to any Eggplant Rollatini that you order in an Italian Restaurant here in New York. The Proscitto Ham...that is optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very good..... Made a lighter version with skim everything and ham and popped it under the broiler instead of frying it. Just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Catherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was great. I don't see the point though in rolling up -- unless you are having company or a nice dinner, and then it's a great touch. Otherwise, save yourself some time on a weeknight dinner and do as others have suggested and layer. I followed some other hints and sweated the eggplant and also broiled the breaded slices to avoid frying them. I did this for five mintues per side. Then I layered this way in a glass baking dish: eggplant, ricotta, spinach (another addition that caught my eye in someone else's review), prosciutto, tomato sauce, and mozarella cheese. Baked at 350 for about 20 minutes or so, until the cheese was melted and starting to brown. We loved this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe was just okay for the amount of preparation involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
DIVINE!! Few changes: I baked the proscuitto until crispy and broke it over the top after it was baked. Also, cutting the eggplant even and thin enough to roll was difficult so I just layered eggplant, ricotta mixture(I added fresh oregano, garlic, salt/pepper) eggplant, ricotta mix, eggplant (I doubled the recipe) then poured the jar of sauce and a can of italian diced tomatoes, then shredded cheese. Baked about 45 min. Then crumbled proscuitto on top. It was heavenly!! Everyone loved it! I made "Worlds Best Chocolate Cake" that has ricotta cheese in it and sour cream in the frosting. The entire meal was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States