Eggplant Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe for eggplant Rollatini. I agree about sweating the eggplant. Also - I think that the people who reviewed this recipe and were not happy with it or confused may not be familiar with "New York classic Italian" dishes. This is pretty spot on to any Eggplant Rollatini that you order in an Italian Restaurant here in New York. The Proscitto Ham...that is optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very good..... Made a lighter version with skim everything and ham and popped it under the broiler instead of frying it. Just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was great. I don't see the point though in rolling up -- unless you are having company or a nice dinner, and then it's a great touch. Otherwise, save yourself some time on a weeknight dinner and do as others have suggested and layer. I followed some other hints and sweated the eggplant and also broiled the breaded slices to avoid frying them. I did this for five mintues per side. Then I layered this way in a glass baking dish: eggplant, ricotta, spinach (another addition that caught my eye in someone else's review), prosciutto, tomato sauce, and mozarella cheese. Baked at 350 for about 20 minutes or so, until the cheese was melted and starting to brown. We loved this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe was just okay for the amount of preparation involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
DIVINE!! Few changes: I baked the proscuitto until crispy and broke it over the top after it was baked. Also, cutting the eggplant even and thin enough to roll was difficult so I just layered eggplant, ricotta mixture(I added fresh oregano, garlic, salt/pepper) eggplant, ricotta mix, eggplant (I doubled the recipe) then poured the jar of sauce and a can of italian diced tomatoes, then shredded cheese. Baked about 45 min. Then crumbled proscuitto on top. It was heavenly!! Everyone loved it! I made "Worlds Best Chocolate Cake" that has ricotta cheese in it and sour cream in the frosting. The entire meal was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
My husband really liked this dish, but I didn't care for it. I sweated the eggplant as others suggested but just didn't care for the eggplant. We used a spinach/ricotta mixture for the filling but our eggplant slices weren't long enough to roll so I just layered the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was a great recipe. Instead of just ricotta, I actually made a mixture of ricotta, mozzarella, a little parmesan cheese and garlic powder and then spread that onto the eggplant. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
When I made this, I added some ground hot sausage in with the ricotta cheese (mainly for my Husband, and because I had no prosciutto). I also diced up the extra bits of eggplant that were not good for rolling and added them to the sauce. I Loved how it turned out, and so did my Husband - I only had one rollatini and he gobbled it all up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPearTree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Delicious and easy recipe that I will certainly make again. With an addition of chopped spinach and granulated garlic to the ricotta filling, this recipe was so tasty, and the prosciutto complimented the flavors so well. I'm thinking maybe a fresh italian herb medley or roasted peppers with spicy sausage for the next round. The eggplant could have been sweated more; maybe salting eggplant slices and chilling on papertowels for a few hours in the fridge will release more water so you have a firmer roll in the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was such an interesting dish. One thing I need to suggest to anyone who is willing to try something new, prosciutto is meant to be paper thin! Unique... probably worth a second shot, (with paper thin prosciutto!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States