Eggplant Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
could not taste the prosciutto to much for the cost of it.. i would use sausage next time. But VERY yummy and pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I followed Chuckster's variation and then made two additional slight modifications. I chose to go with Chuckster's changes because I preferred baking the eggplant slices rather than frying them to avoid the extra oil. I also liked sweating the slices first with salt. While I don't find eggplant particularly bitter (which is why many people start with this step), I think it helped soften the slices, making them more pliable and easier to roll up. I sliced the eggplant about 1/8 inch rather than 1/4, using a mandoline. My guess is that made the slices even easier to roll up. Second, I used cottage cheese rather than ricotta because that is what I had on hand (and I use cottage cheese rather than ricotta when I make lasagna). Even though I suspect I had more rolls because I sliced the eggplant thinner, I still had enough of the cheese mixture for the filling as written. I did find the sauce a little skimpy and will use two jars next time to make sure I have enough to cover the rolls so they don't dry out and to serve with the rolls and angel hair. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Easy and very good - the leftovers were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
So good! I did sweat my eggplant for roughly an hour. I ended up cutting the slices too thick so instead I layered it in a 9x9. From bottom up, a little spag sauce, eggplant, ricotta,eggplant, ricotta, prosciutto,remaining eggplant, remaining spag sauce and all of the mozzarella. It was soo good, even my picky 8 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I was looking for low carb meatless main dishes for variety and stumbled across this recipe. I did make some changes that made each serving 11.5 carbs each. First I put salt on the eggplant pieces and let them sit on paper towels for about 20 minutes to reduce any chance of bitterness. Instead of using the bread crumbs, I used 1/2 c ground pine nuts mixed with 1 c ground pork skins seasoned with basil and oregano. I also used more oil than 2 T, probably more like 1/4 - 1/2 cup for the frying of the eggplant. But this recipe was simply amazing even with these changes. My husband loved it. We ate it with spaghetti squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montystacy93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is the best eggplant rollitini. My husband and all my friends say its the best they ever had. I do change it a tiny bit. I add garlic seasoning to the egg and fresh minced garlic and parmesan to the ricotta, but that's just because I love garlic. Sometimes I switch it up and use ham instead of prosciutto or If I want to do it vegetarian style I dkip the meat and mix spinach with the ricotta. Every way is absolutely delicious. I always have to make a lot cuz everyone wants seconds or wants to take left overs home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was excellent! I prepared everything according to recipe with exception of using whole wheat seasoned bread crumbs and my own sauce. Took some time to prepare but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was fantastic! I made minimum changes (combining an egg, ricotta, parsley and roasted garlic for the filling), and it was incredible! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
made this dish for my christmas at the in-laws - wouldn't change a thing... they requested it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was delicious and pretty easy to make. I think basil or garlic are a good addition to the ricotta because it's a little bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States