Eggplant Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This recipe was delicious! I did change it a little...I just layed foil on the BBQ and cooked the eggplant that way instead of frying it. I used panko (seasoned with garlic powder, italian seasoning and s&p) instead of bread crumbs because that is what I had on hand. (might try bread crumbs next time to see which is actually better) I used sauce made from my garden tomatoes (eggplant also was from the garden) and instead of angel hair pasta I used a small ziti cause I hate going to the grocery store when I have similar items in the house. The flavors were very complemetary, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! Well done! And thank you to the reviewers who mentioned 'sweating' the eggplant!!! Life saving comments! All this time I've been wondering why I have such a hard time making eggplant taste good. That's all I had to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Everyone like it! A rare thing. Used cottage cheese instead of ricotta and added fresh basil, mozzarella, parmesan and seasononing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Pretty good. I didn't peel the eggplant but I did sweat it. I also left out the prosciutto to keep it vegetarian. It definitely took more than two tbsp. of olive oil to fry up the eggplant though. I also served it over the veggie linguini instead of angel hair pasta. Everyone loved it, including the 19 month old baby who couldn't get enough. My complaints are that it's "messy" in terms of dishes to clean up (dish for eggs and breadcrumbs, frying pan, baking dish and pasta pot), and it's pretty hard to get those slices at an even thickness. Next time I'll use the mandolin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juli Warfel Bitler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dade City, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Being of Italian descent - Mom & Gramma gave me a tip to make this dish so much easier. First slice egplant lengthwise 1/8". Coat slices w/flour then dip in eggwash. No breadcrumbs! Then fry in oil. Cool & drain on papertowels. Stack slices when cool - wrap in foil then into a freezer bag & into freezer. When you want to make this dish just defrost. The hard part is over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
good but prep time should be at least doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe. Our modification utilized our homegrown smaller Japanese eggplants, making it a bit more intense in the prep arena. Because of this, we made it into a layered lasagne style casserole which turned out to be marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
No need to ever fry eggplant! Prepare as the recipe says except broil on each side for about 3 minutes instead of frying. Added some savory and pepper and garlic salt to the ricotta mix and laid some julienned zucchini on the ricotta instead of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I thought this was delicious! An excellent way to use the eggplant from my CSA. I added some basil, parmesan, and mozzarella to the ricotta mixture. Having a mandoline really helps when cutting the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is one of our favorite recipes. It's great for a dinner party, you can make it ahead and throw it in the oven before guests arrive. It's even better than my Italian father-in-law's rollatini :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States