Eggplant Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Restaurant style! I got so many compliments on this dish I just had to rate it. I did nothing to change this recipe other than I used La Familia Marina Sauce instead of spaghetti sauce. I will be making this recipe for years to come. Thanks for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was a BIG hit! Just a few changes... 1 - I sweated the eggplant first 2 - added fresh grated parmesan to the egg 3 - added sauteed red onions and garlic, along with spinach and italian seasoning to the cheese filling Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgiamella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Pretty good recipe. The only thing I would change is the jar sauce. Fresh sauce always taste better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rgonza49
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! I did make some healthy modifications and the recipe was still five stars so I thought I would share. First, I breaded the eggplant using panko bread crumbs and italian seasoning. Then, I broiled it instead of frying. It took about 5 minutes on each side (or until brown/crispy). Then I used low fat ricotta (which cuts the fat significantly). I did add some italian seasoning and about a 1/4 cup each of parmesan and asiago cheese to the ricotta for extra flavor (this added some fat, but increased the flavor- of course could leave it out also). I substituted fresh spinach for the prosciutto and instead of using jar sauce, I made up a quick sauce with just organic diced (for texture) and crushed tomatoes, lots of garlic and basil, salt, pepper to taste. Let it simmer while I was preparing the eggplant (about 30 minutes). The result was perfect. The eggplant retained it's form and didn't get mushy (one of my gripes about eggplant parmesan) and the flavors were wow! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I am making this for the 2nd time this week because we loved it so much! The only change I made was to sub bacon for the meat because that is what we had on hand. It is soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Instead of frying, I baked the eggplant slices after breading in a 375 oven until light brown. I was able to roll them right after they came out of the oven. The kids had fun helping me make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I did have a hard time slicing the eggplant thin lenghtwise. I do have a hand slicer, but could only slice it the short way. I sliced it by hand, but did not slice thin enough, so I made the eggplant just like lasagna. I did not fry as the recipe stated, but baked as other reviews stated--it was good--even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I've made this twice, and I just realised that the second time I left out the breadcrumb bit, but it turned out great anyway! I added grated pecorino and, like many others, spinach to the ricotta. I poured over tomato passata (puree) to which I added salt, dried oregano and minced garlic, and that seemed to be enough. I think not crumbing them might make the process a little quicker and less messy, I just sliced and lighty fried the eggplant in a griddle pan. I'm happy with them either way, and so was everyone else that ate them (incl my bro-in-law who didn't want any but after having one decided that he was taking any left-overs home with him so he could take them to work for lunch the next day)! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I use it as part of an Italian dinner without the pasta. I make a marinari sauce instead of buying a spaghetti sauce. You can make the rollatinis in the morning and refrigerate them until ready to bake with the sauce and cheese. Also, make sure to "sweat" the eggplant to take out the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doughok

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Have never had eggplant Rollatini before so don't know what it is supposed to taste like but LOVED this recipe. Did not add prosciutto but did add spinach, nutmeg, abd basil to the ricotta cheese. Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States