Eggplant Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
So good! I did sweat my eggplant for roughly an hour. I ended up cutting the slices too thick so instead I layered it in a 9x9. From bottom up, a little spag sauce, eggplant, ricotta,eggplant, ricotta, prosciutto,remaining eggplant, remaining spag sauce and all of the mozzarella. It was soo good, even my picky 8 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I was looking for low carb meatless main dishes for variety and stumbled across this recipe. I did make some changes that made each serving 11.5 carbs each. First I put salt on the eggplant pieces and let them sit on paper towels for about 20 minutes to reduce any chance of bitterness. Instead of using the bread crumbs, I used 1/2 c ground pine nuts mixed with 1 c ground pork skins seasoned with basil and oregano. I also used more oil than 2 T, probably more like 1/4 - 1/2 cup for the frying of the eggplant. But this recipe was simply amazing even with these changes. My husband loved it. We ate it with spaghetti squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montystacy93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is the best eggplant rollitini. My husband and all my friends say its the best they ever had. I do change it a tiny bit. I add garlic seasoning to the egg and fresh minced garlic and parmesan to the ricotta, but that's just because I love garlic. Sometimes I switch it up and use ham instead of prosciutto or If I want to do it vegetarian style I dkip the meat and mix spinach with the ricotta. Every way is absolutely delicious. I always have to make a lot cuz everyone wants seconds or wants to take left overs home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was excellent! I prepared everything according to recipe with exception of using whole wheat seasoned bread crumbs and my own sauce. Took some time to prepare but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was fantastic! I made minimum changes (combining an egg, ricotta, parsley and roasted garlic for the filling), and it was incredible! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
made this dish for my christmas at the in-laws - wouldn't change a thing... they requested it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was delicious and pretty easy to make. I think basil or garlic are a good addition to the ricotta because it's a little bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Good and simple to make. I agree though that is is not fast. I don't sweat the eggplant using salt, I pan fry it with a little bit of oil on both sides and then add about two tbsp of water to the pan so that it evaporates and then cover the pan. Basically, I sweat it out in a different way. This takes a shorter amount of time than the 20 minute salt sweat and is much easier. Also I used seasoned panko instead of bread crumbs and did without the prosciutto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I absolutely love eggplant rollatini and this is the first time I have made this. I do not think I sweated the eggplant long enough because it was a little bitter. Next time I will sweat longer than 30 minutes. Also, I used a lot more EVOO and I do not think that the eggplant was cooked long enough. Recipe was good, I just need more practice! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
delicious! Used fat-free ricotta and spinach, mushroom, and garlic in the ricotta mixture. Broiled each eggplant slice under a broiler for 8 minutes on each side. Very good. Paired with tomato-cream sauce from this site and linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States