Eggplant Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Everyone like it! A rare thing. Used cottage cheese instead of ricotta and added fresh basil, mozzarella, parmesan and seasononing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Pretty good. I didn't peel the eggplant but I did sweat it. I also left out the prosciutto to keep it vegetarian. It definitely took more than two tbsp. of olive oil to fry up the eggplant though. I also served it over the veggie linguini instead of angel hair pasta. Everyone loved it, including the 19 month old baby who couldn't get enough. My complaints are that it's "messy" in terms of dishes to clean up (dish for eggs and breadcrumbs, frying pan, baking dish and pasta pot), and it's pretty hard to get those slices at an even thickness. Next time I'll use the mandolin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juli Warfel Bitler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dade City, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Being of Italian descent - Mom & Gramma gave me a tip to make this dish so much easier. First slice egplant lengthwise 1/8". Coat slices w/flour then dip in eggwash. No breadcrumbs! Then fry in oil. Cool & drain on papertowels. Stack slices when cool - wrap in foil then into a freezer bag & into freezer. When you want to make this dish just defrost. The hard part is over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
good but prep time should be at least doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe. Our modification utilized our homegrown smaller Japanese eggplants, making it a bit more intense in the prep arena. Because of this, we made it into a layered lasagne style casserole which turned out to be marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
No need to ever fry eggplant! Prepare as the recipe says except broil on each side for about 3 minutes instead of frying. Added some savory and pepper and garlic salt to the ricotta mix and laid some julienned zucchini on the ricotta instead of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I thought this was delicious! An excellent way to use the eggplant from my CSA. I added some basil, parmesan, and mozzarella to the ricotta mixture. Having a mandoline really helps when cutting the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is one of our favorite recipes. It's great for a dinner party, you can make it ahead and throw it in the oven before guests arrive. It's even better than my Italian father-in-law's rollatini :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
could not taste the prosciutto to much for the cost of it.. i would use sausage next time. But VERY yummy and pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I followed Chuckster's variation and then made two additional slight modifications. I chose to go with Chuckster's changes because I preferred baking the eggplant slices rather than frying them to avoid the extra oil. I also liked sweating the slices first with salt. While I don't find eggplant particularly bitter (which is why many people start with this step), I think it helped soften the slices, making them more pliable and easier to roll up. I sliced the eggplant about 1/8 inch rather than 1/4, using a mandoline. My guess is that made the slices even easier to roll up. Second, I used cottage cheese rather than ricotta because that is what I had on hand (and I use cottage cheese rather than ricotta when I make lasagna). Even though I suspect I had more rolls because I sliced the eggplant thinner, I still had enough of the cheese mixture for the filling as written. I did find the sauce a little skimpy and will use two jars next time to make sure I have enough to cover the rolls so they don't dry out and to serve with the rolls and angel hair. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dix Hills, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States