Eggplant Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
My 5 yr old son asked what an eggplant is and what it tastes like. I couldn't really tell him because I'd never had one. So we went to the store and he picked one out. I searched allrecipes for a popular recipe and came across this one. I was skeptical at first. I even prayed that it would turn out good. :) It was REALLY good. I didn't have any of that funky Italian meat so I used really thin sliced smoked ham. And I used panko bread crumbs instead of traditional bread crumbs (because I can get panko in natural). I also sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on right before the mozzarella. This was kinda time consuming, but totally worth it. My son even ate it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raspberry_waffles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Awesome! I agree with 3 of the major suggestions: (1) de-bitterize the eggplant for 30 minutes by putting salt generously and letting it drain out, (2) Ricotta Mix: Didn't use meat - sautead spinach and garlic and then mixed it in ricotta mix. I also spiced up the mix - the spicier the better. I only had Frank's red hot but I would use Sriracha or chili peppers. (3) No need to fry the eggplant - just broil it 5-6 minutes each side when you put all the mix. This dish was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was very easy and quite tasty. I added a lil of the mozzarella to the inside of the roll-up and rather than prosciutto grilled a sausage on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Delicious! Made it on the fly without time to run to grocery store, so substituted pepperoni slices for the filler. YUM! Whole family loved it, even the toddlers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This recipe is pretty great! The only thing, is that I made my own sauce, rather than using spaghetti sauce in a jar. It has a much better taste on the eggplant AND pasta, rather than tasting synthetic. Another thing, I allowed the eggplant slices to sweat out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and love it. Like others, I sweated the eggplant, broiled instead of fried, and added spinach and garlic to the ricotta. This time I also added pesto, which I think was a great addition. I forgot to put in the salt and pepper in the ricotta like I usually do, and it was a noticeable difference. I'll remember it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I love eggplant....and my son and I are not fussy eaters but we didn't like this at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Instead of ricotta cheese I used cottage cheese and omitted the prosciutto. I added spinach, garlic and basil to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
WONDERFUL recipe for Eggplant fans! Easy to make. YUMMMMM! I omitted the prosciutto & added Italian seasoning to my ricotta. * Also boiled the eggplant for a couple of minutes first (because that's supposed to get rid of any bitter flavor. Had to pat it dry then dip in beaten egg. The suggestion of adding spinach sounds great, so next time I will try it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Two of us liked it, two didn't. I tripled it because this is a lot of effort for one egg plant. Didn't make the pasta since I didn't have a lot of sauce. I'd give this 5 stars if the house wasn't split on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States