Eggplant, Roasted Pepper and Chicken Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is such a divine dish!! One mistake- Its supposed to be red wine vinegar- not balsamic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delicious and pretty healthy except for all the olive oil! I didn't coat the chicken in flour first and didn't miss it. Also, we ate ours woithout the pita and it was just fine. I think next time I make this, I will make double the eggplant, peppers and tomatoes and serve it as a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LED87
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
AWESOME! I cut up fresh red bell pepper and put them in the skillet with olive oil and garlic until fork tender. I fried up my eggplant because I didnt want to clean my george foreman. I added feta cheese & spinach and used naan flatbread from my bakery. I did use the red wine vinegar instead of balsamic & it was perfect! Topped with fresh tomato. I ate half w/ chicken & half without. I think I might turn this into a vegetarian dish & leave off the chicken. Can't wait to make again for lunch tomorrow, so I can use the rest of my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I thought this was great I didn't have red wine vinager but used white wine instead and it turned out fine also didn't have any roasted red peppers so I just excluded them and I still loved it. Even my 10 yr old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Reminded me of the flavors I had on my Mediterranean vacation - "Mezze" platters in Turkey. Also, try adding artichoke hearts and feta. If your artichoke hearts/roasted red peppers are marinated, you don't need to add much more of your own seasoning. I don't know why reviewers are saying to use red wine vinegar, balsamic is accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
If I could give it more stars, I would. This was DIVINE!! I followed the recipe as said w/ the exception of roasting my own red bell peppers. I didn't have pita bread, so we used spinach wraps...and my daughter suggested a bit of feta which...oy, was a great addition!! I think next time I will oven bake my chicken, though, just to get rid of some of the fat. Very good and different!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Made this tonight with naan bread. My family of 7 raved about it, (ranging from my husband, teenagers, and a two year old). It's going to stay as a regular "sandwich" in this family. I served it on a bit of spinach and a little crumble feta for topping. Just wanted to add that I broiled my chicken without instead of frying it in oil and didn't bread it. I only added about a little more than a pinch of garlic seasoning on each of the breasts for a bit of flavour. This helps cut down on some of those unwanted calories & fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Good recipe! I did an ingredient search with chicken and eggplant and this recipe came up. It was perfect. I used balsamic because I love the flavor, and also added fresh cilantro from our garden to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Okay, here is another recipe that I walked into not knowing whether or not I would like it. I went into this kind of unsure of the grilled eggplant part, but this was soooo good. It is full of flavor and the salad has a nice intense balsamic flavor that really makes the chicken pop. Per others suggestion I added some feta cheese and this made it even better. An easy meal that the whole family will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States