Eggplant, Roasted Pepper and Chicken Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is such a divine dish!! One mistake- Its supposed to be red wine vinegar- not balsamic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delicious and pretty healthy except for all the olive oil! I didn't coat the chicken in flour first and didn't miss it. Also, we ate ours woithout the pita and it was just fine. I think next time I make this, I will make double the eggplant, peppers and tomatoes and serve it as a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LED87
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
AWESOME! I cut up fresh red bell pepper and put them in the skillet with olive oil and garlic until fork tender. I fried up my eggplant because I didnt want to clean my george foreman. I added feta cheese & spinach and used naan flatbread from my bakery. I did use the red wine vinegar instead of balsamic & it was perfect! Topped with fresh tomato. I ate half w/ chicken & half without. I think I might turn this into a vegetarian dish & leave off the chicken. Can't wait to make again for lunch tomorrow, so I can use the rest of my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I thought this was great I didn't have red wine vinager but used white wine instead and it turned out fine also didn't have any roasted red peppers so I just excluded them and I still loved it. Even my 10 yr old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Reminded me of the flavors I had on my Mediterranean vacation - "Mezze" platters in Turkey. Also, try adding artichoke hearts and feta. If your artichoke hearts/roasted red peppers are marinated, you don't need to add much more of your own seasoning. I don't know why reviewers are saying to use red wine vinegar, balsamic is accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
If I could give it more stars, I would. This was DIVINE!! I followed the recipe as said w/ the exception of roasting my own red bell peppers. I didn't have pita bread, so we used spinach wraps...and my daughter suggested a bit of feta which...oy, was a great addition!! I think next time I will oven bake my chicken, though, just to get rid of some of the fat. Very good and different!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Made this tonight with naan bread. My family of 7 raved about it, (ranging from my husband, teenagers, and a two year old). It's going to stay as a regular "sandwich" in this family. I served it on a bit of spinach and a little crumble feta for topping. Just wanted to add that I broiled my chicken without instead of frying it in oil and didn't bread it. I only added about a little more than a pinch of garlic seasoning on each of the breasts for a bit of flavour. This helps cut down on some of those unwanted calories & fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Good recipe! I did an ingredient search with chicken and eggplant and this recipe came up. It was perfect. I used balsamic because I love the flavor, and also added fresh cilantro from our garden to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Okay, here is another recipe that I walked into not knowing whether or not I would like it. I went into this kind of unsure of the grilled eggplant part, but this was soooo good. It is full of flavor and the salad has a nice intense balsamic flavor that really makes the chicken pop. Per others suggestion I added some feta cheese and this made it even better. An easy meal that the whole family will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Bacon Jalapeno Pepper Chicken Bites

A deliciously spicy, filling appetizer or dinner!

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States