Eggplant Pizzas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars because my entire family liked it (kids are almost two and four and a half). Score! I didn't fry it first mostly because I needed my hands to do other things to get dinner ready in a hurry. I followed the direction exactly except after I floured them I also dipped them in panko. I put them on a greased cookie sheet and baked on 450 for about 20 mins. Once they can be pierced with a fork, I took them out and put tomato sauce, a generous amount of parmesan and then grated mozzarella and put them back in at 350 for about 5-10 minutes to melt cheese. Baking them made them plenty crispy and really delicious! My guess is too much oil could make them soggy if you weren't careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Really quite good. I took the recommendation of others and floured, egged then dipped these slices in italian breadcrumbs. After greasing a cookie sheet with olive oil, I cooked these for 20 mins at 450. Then topped with sauce, parm and mozz cheeses and a mix of mushrooms, onions, garlic, and red peppers. bake again for 8 minutes on 350. Like homemade tapas! Please make. So easy and came out crispy and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This recipe was great and fun! Here's what I did differently. 1). I coated the eggplant in eggs and breadcrumbs rather than flour and since they were seasoned it gave the pizzas a bit of flavor. When I fried them I used just enough oil to coat the pan and they dried them w/ a paper towel before baking 2). I added veggie italian sausage, mushrooms and onion and I stir-fried the veggies a bit first so they were tender. This recipe was even liked by my very picky 5-year old daughter (of course I just told her they were pizzas, but after she ate 2 I told her it was eggplant and she didn't believe me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I made this but exchanged the eggplant with a large zucchini as eggplant isn't available often here and is expensive where zukes are giveaway at this time of year. I also baked them in the oven on a greased cookie sheet turning them over half way into cooking time. (absorbs less oil) Slightly crisp crust, could be finger food, but SO good. Could top with chopped ham or some other meat and a pepper or two for a heartier meal for young 'uns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I needed to get rid of my eggplant and mushrooms before I ended up having to toss them in the trash as usual. I'm trying to eat a bit healthier, so frying the eggplant didn't appeal to me at all. I changed the ingredients a bit because I used crushed plain Cheerios, Ritz crackers, and a touch of cornmeal to bread, then let them bake in the oven for about 15 min for each side (I cut very thick slices, a little over half an inch, but don't recommend cutting so thick; I got knife happy, lol), then took them out and added the sauce, cheese, and mushrooms (sauteed). I let them cook for ten more min. then took them out. Great recipe and I'll definitely try it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was my second time working with eggplant and it went very well. Just keep in mind that the eggplant can burn rather quickly... I can't help but think that the rule that nothing can be bad when smothered with cheese holds true here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
this is a great recipe except it's not eggplant pizza this is a classic recipe for eggplant parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhoenixMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chamberlain, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Delicious! Like Filaree, I skipped the frying. I just dipped them in egg, sprinkled salt and garlic seasoning, baked them for 20 minutes at 450, topped them with tomato sauce, parmesean, and mozzarella, and then baked them for another 6 minutes. Plenty crispy. I feel like frying them would have been gross! Next time I might try to dip them in almond flour instead of wheat flour (I try to avoid wheat whenever possible).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
this is an awesome recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Mojave, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
De-freaking-licious. I love pizza but follow a very carb controlled diet so any bread substitutes are awesome!!! Loved it just as written but added pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States