Eggplant Pizzas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars because my entire family liked it (kids are almost two and four and a half). Score! I didn't fry it first mostly because I needed my hands to do other things to get dinner ready in a hurry. I followed the direction exactly except after I floured them I also dipped them in panko. I put them on a greased cookie sheet and baked on 450 for about 20 mins. Once they can be pierced with a fork, I took them out and put tomato sauce, a generous amount of parmesan and then grated mozzarella and put them back in at 350 for about 5-10 minutes to melt cheese. Baking them made them plenty crispy and really delicious! My guess is too much oil could make them soggy if you weren't careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Pretty good, just like Eggplant Parmesan in circular form. The kids liked putting them together and they even ate some too! I liked someone's review where they used zucchini, I might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
to greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This recipe was great and fun! Here's what I did differently. 1). I coated the eggplant in eggs and breadcrumbs rather than flour and since they were seasoned it gave the pizzas a bit of flavor. When I fried them I used just enough oil to coat the pan and they dried them w/ a paper towel before baking 2). I added veggie italian sausage, mushrooms and onion and I stir-fried the veggies a bit first so they were tender. This recipe was even liked by my very picky 5-year old daughter (of course I just told her they were pizzas, but after she ate 2 I told her it was eggplant and she didn't believe me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
this is an awesome recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Mojave, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I needed to get rid of my eggplant and mushrooms before I ended up having to toss them in the trash as usual. I'm trying to eat a bit healthier, so frying the eggplant didn't appeal to me at all. I changed the ingredients a bit because I used crushed plain Cheerios, Ritz crackers, and a touch of cornmeal to bread, then let them bake in the oven for about 15 min for each side (I cut very thick slices, a little over half an inch, but don't recommend cutting so thick; I got knife happy, lol), then took them out and added the sauce, cheese, and mushrooms (sauteed). I let them cook for ten more min. then took them out. Great recipe and I'll definitely try it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
De-freaking-licious. I love pizza but follow a very carb controlled diet so any bread substitutes are awesome!!! Loved it just as written but added pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Great to make with your kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I dont think I will make these again. Or maybe I will. Not sure. The eggplant turned out a little too soggy for our taste. If I can make it crisper, I think I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I soaked the eggplant for 10 minutes in salt water (a trick I use when cooking eggplant parmesan) and still found it to be a little bland. This turned out to be an okay substitute for eggplant parmesan. I really like the little "pizza" presentation, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States