Eggplant Parmigiana Caponata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
really good -- but i made some changes: no bell peppers, no wine vinegar, 1/4 c. br. sugar instead of 1/2 c., no anchovies, no capers... great!!! made it again and got rave reviews--again! Here is what one person said: "Oh my gosh, recipe, please!!! Fabulous! Wanted to lick the bottom of the pan but used my broccoli instead." I made it with the capers this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Sullivan, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
Absolutely wonderful, although I did do a few alterations as I did not have a few ingredients. I used green olives ground up in blender instead of capers, accidently cooked the peppers with the onion, and used green onion instead. It is a bit sweet, and I might back off a bit on the sugar next time, but there WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This is a very distinctive tasting dish, the kind you either love or hate. I loved it, thought it was tasty and different, my hubby hated it, wanted to know why I put barbecue sauce on eggplant. If you are looking for a more traditional italian tasting sauce for on top, I would suggest cutting way back on the vinegars and sugar. If you like something new, than leave it as is (maybe still less brown sugar!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I threw some chicken into the recipe because it was in my fridge and needed to be used. It's a nice meal in one dish-made for pretty good leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
For all you Ichthyophobics out there, this is a fabulous recipe that integrates anchovies into a tart, vegetable delight. Also great for any eggplant aficionados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I would probably give this more like a 3.5 stars... we liked the flavors, and with a few modifications it could be a 5. The "fixes" I made would equate to the following modifications on the original recipe. First, I did not use any anchovies or capers. I used only about 2 tbs each of balsamic and red wine vinegar, and about 2 tbs brown sugar (the original recipe made it WAY too sweet!). Also, I would drain the tomatoes (I used diced instead of stewed) and would not saturate the eggplant with oil--my husband and I both thought it was way too oily and liquidy. Definitely has potential though--a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Delicious recipe! I did omit the sugar entirely because of another cook's comment that the sauce tasted like a Bar-B-Que sauce and it was superb! I figured the Balsamic Vinegar would sweeten the dish enough and I was correct! My whole family gobbled it up - even my 5-year old and 19-month old children. No complaints of itchy mouths either! My husband loved the eggplant mixed in with his fettucini. I would like to suggest to anyone who is contemplating making this dish to go ahead and use the anchovies in the recipe. We are not an anchovy family. I personally hate strong-flavored fish. There is no way I would ever eat a slice of pizza with anchovies on it but when you add anchovies to sauces, it gives a depth to the dish that would be totally lacking if you omitted them. I keep anchovies on hand just for this. It can really make a difference between a good dish and a great one!For this recipe, I used the whole 2 ounce can of anchovy fillets. Just drained the oil from them, chopped them up and tossed them in at the right time. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this dish last night for Valentines Day and it was amazing! I followed all the reviews and didn't really measure my oil, just used enough to saute the veggies. It was the perfect amount! Everything about this dish was great, I even made extra sauce to use with chicken parmigiana...(my boyfriend wanted both chicken and eggplant). All I had to do was add s bit of vodka and heavy cream to the sauce, and a bit of tomato paste and it was amazing with the chicken. I would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Like several others, I made some changes to the recipe based on other comments. I reduced the brown sugar to 3 tablespoons, removed the anchovies, used only balsamic vinegar (didn't have any red wine vinegar handy) and used only about 2 tablespoons of olive oil along with some olive oil spray during sauteing. (Way more healthy with less total fat!) I also added 1/4 cup of chopped kalamata olives, an 1/8 cup of chopped green olives and 3/4 of a cup of sauteed sliced white mushrooms. This was an amazingly good base for a recipe, and even better after sitting a day for the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is great dish. the sauce is amazing. I used fontina cheese because I didn't have mozzarella. Family loved it and they don't normally like eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States