Eggplant Parmesan with Fresh Basil and Smoked Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe was simple, easy and turned out awesome. The thinner slices of eggplant made a crispy dish even after the sauce. My eleven month old son even had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
wow! This is a delicious recipe. The smoked mozzarella is excellent and will be a permanent substitution for plain mozzarella in future Eggplant Parmesan dishes. I come from a long line of Italian cooks who are known for this dish. That said, I was happy to find a recipe that deviated from the usual way we make it. I am a basil fan so I did add extra basil. My Nonie insists that you must dip in flour first before the egg and bread crumbs. Since I have grown up with that step , I do it automatically now. Not sure if it even makes a difference! Just when I thought I couldn't improve on the family recipe, I did! We make our own sauces and freeze for future use. I chose the caramelized onion and red bell pepper sauce which went great. Next time I am making a double batch! Oh thank you for this jewel of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Delicious!!! My 7 year old asked for thirds! I used regular mozzarella instead of smoked, and laid the eggplant slices flat on a cookie sheet rather than layering them in a baking dish. Amazing, great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRAROGERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Great recipe! Unfortunately, my store didn't have smoked mozzarella, but I used fresh and it was still good. I took another person's advice and dipped the eggplant in flour before the egg/milk mixture. It helps the breadcrumbs stay on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is a real keeper. Excellent! I added a little pasta in between the layers. Filling and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was my first taste of eggplant and I absolutely loved this recipe and so did my family! This dish will become a regular favorite on my families table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassygirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Atempting to have a meatless Monday with my hubby and kids. This turned out to be a meatless Wednesday instead. LOVED this recipe! Kids loved it too which is surprising because they don't like much. The only thing I changed was that I used panko crumbs instead of bread crumbs. This was only because I didn't have bread crumbs available. I served this with spaghetti squash and garlic bread. Will surely use again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is incredible. My husband is a very picky eater and he loved it, and we had a lot of leftovers so I took it in to work for my employees to try- it was gone within 3 hours and everyone said they absolutely loved it! :-) I did make the tomato sauce from scratch, and followed review suggestions to dip the eggplant in flour before the egg and bread crumbs- it worked beautifully. This is a definite favorite- I'll be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Oh my goodness, this was really delicious. I had not tried to make eggplant parmesan in years and had decided to try this recipe. Yummy!!!! I could not find smoked mozzarella so used regular and it was awesome....will look harder for the smoked mozzarella and try it again...I'm sure it will be extra wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Loosely followed this recipe. Up sized to make a 9" x 13" dish (1 large & 1 medium eggplant, and 2 (24 ounce) jars marinara sauce). Tried the recipe’s method of not flouring the eggplant before dipping in egg mixture/bread crumbs, and the adhesion was not good . . . Nonie’s method (Mom of five’s review) of first dipping in flour is much better. Sautéed onions and fresh garlic, and then simmered with the marinara sauce to give it more flavor. Like others, used regular mozzarella after being unable to find smoked mozzarella cheese given limited time. I’m pretty sure this cheese is available at a local deli and will pickup some to make this again. I found this more involved and time consuming to make than anticipated . . . take note of the 20 minutes to 2 hours suggested for drying out the eggplant. I did 30 minutes after checking a few other recipes, and that seemed fine. With more than an hour into cutting, drying, and frying the 2 eggplants, the fried slices were placed in fridge for later use that afternoon. That is the major time factor, and the dish comes together quickly after those steps are completed. This eggplant dish is very, very good. In trying to make a healthier version while hopefully not sacrificing taste, next time plan to follow the method of baking the eggplant detailed in Crunchy Eggplant Parmesan on this site, and then finishing it off by using steps 3, 5, and 6 of this recipe. Thanks lindseytr0n.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States