Eggplant Parmesan with Fresh Basil and Smoked Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this last night for some friends we had over and every single person had 3 servings and kept asking what was in it! One guy, the vegetarian, said it's the best eggplant parm he's had in a long long time. I think the smoked mozzarella makes a huge difference. You don't need a lot. I added shredded mozzarella to fill in the spaces bc the smoked moz didn't seem like enough cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
very tasty,I used eggplant,basil from the garden,a jar of spegetti sauce instead of the marinara,fresh mozzarella...was delicious...had some extra eggplant that was a great apppetizer...very crispy...worth the time to salt and drain..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Loosely followed this recipe. Up sized to make a 9" x 13" dish (1 large & 1 medium eggplant, and 2 (24 ounce) jars marinara sauce). Tried the recipe’s method of not flouring the eggplant before dipping in egg mixture/bread crumbs, and the adhesion was not good . . . Nonie’s method (Mom of five’s review) of first dipping in flour is much better. Sautéed onions and fresh garlic, and then simmered with the marinara sauce to give it more flavor. Like others, used regular mozzarella after being unable to find smoked mozzarella cheese given limited time. I’m pretty sure this cheese is available at a local deli and will pickup some to make this again. I found this more involved and time consuming to make than anticipated . . . take note of the 20 minutes to 2 hours suggested for drying out the eggplant. I did 30 minutes after checking a few other recipes, and that seemed fine. With more than an hour into cutting, drying, and frying the 2 eggplants, the fried slices were placed in fridge for later use that afternoon. That is the major time factor, and the dish comes together quickly after those steps are completed. This eggplant dish is very, very good. In trying to make a healthier version while hopefully not sacrificing taste, next time plan to follow the method of baking the eggplant detailed in Crunchy Eggplant Parmesan on this site, and then finishing it off by using steps 3, 5, and 6 of this recipe. Thanks lindseytr0n.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by Jfrosty
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This recipe was amazing!! My kids loved it. I had never made eggplant before and probably only tasted it once (yuck). But my daughter asked to try eggplant so I bought one at the store and found this recipe. I had to use twice the egg and all the breadcrumbs in the house. I also could have made it in a 9X13 pan as it almost overfilled my 9X9. I couldn't figure out the layer exactly if sauce was supposed to go in each layer, but I forgoed it in a few layers to save on space. Truly an amazing dish, even if it was a lot of work! Totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Made this dish for my employees and everybody wants the recipe . It was awesome .Can't wait for another eggplant to be ready to pick in my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was very easy to make and very yummy! I used regular mozzarella cheese and seasoned the bread crumbs with pepper and parsley. Would make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Loved it, alittle more time comsuming then I'd like it to be but was time well spent.Going to make it again (for company) tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Very good! The skin is rather tough, but the flavor was great. My kids aren't too picky, but this was definitely not a remake for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was my first taste of eggplant and I absolutely loved this recipe and so did my family! This dish will become a regular favorite on my families table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassygirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Atempting to have a meatless Monday with my hubby and kids. This turned out to be a meatless Wednesday instead. LOVED this recipe! Kids loved it too which is surprising because they don't like much. The only thing I changed was that I used panko crumbs instead of bread crumbs. This was only because I didn't have bread crumbs available. I served this with spaghetti squash and garlic bread. Will surely use again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States