Eggplant Parmesan with Fresh Basil and Smoked Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kent Rosenbaum
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This is my new favorite recipe. I've made it 3 times & noticed the more the basil, the better. I also prep my eggplant to sit 1-2 hours. It seems to taste better the longer you drain the eggplant juices. Eating them after being fried is delicious, also. I may make that a future appetizer with a nice sauce...possible a chipotle ranch. Thank you for making me realize eggplant is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I drained pressed the eggplant like the author suggested and fried in small batches. I did peel my eggplant. I discovered that I don't really care for eggplant. Imserved it over angel hair pasta. I also would add another jar of sauce or use a large jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Made this recipe for the first time tonight and it was a hit! I also made pasta, extra marinara sauce and garlic bread to go with it and it was soooo delicious!!! I will certainly be making this again soon. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was a delightful recipe. I salted the eggplant and left it in one layer on paper towels, with a paper towel on top. I accidentally left them out for about 4.5 hours. I started out using "Nonni's method" as mentioned in some of the other reviews (dipping the eggplant in flour before the egg and then breadcrumbs) but forgot halfway through and realized it was actually working better without the flour. I theorize that it has to do with whether you've let them sit a long time with salt or not. I fried mine on a griddle with only a teeny bit of oil. The resulting dish was really great, the eggplant wasn't soggy and my kids loved it (2 and 4 years old). Definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Not fair to this recipe - I'm learning I do not like eggplant much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Amazing!!! We loved it. I used regular mozzarella cheese, but I bet it is even better with smoked mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawanna Dumis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Really yummy and easy to prepare, although frying the eggplant took longer than I thought. I made my own breadcrumbs, which I felt was a positive change. I also didn't use fresh Parmesan, which was good, but next time I'll use fresh. Despite this, the dish tasted really fresh and was not too cheesy. I used a lot of basil because I love it. Finally, I used regular mozzarella instead, because I couldn't find smoked. I'm hoping to find it for next time! My husband said: 'better than a restaurant!', and he's not a gushing complimenter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Although I don't eat eggplant, this is a very good recipe. Recommendations: Don't buy canned/jarred marinara sauce. If you make this recipe, prepare your own marinara. Marinara has uses as an ingredient in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Of All Kitchens

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Photo by tesimpson
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Oh my how delicious!! I used spicy Dia Volo sauce and basil from my garden. I used plain mozzarella instead of smoked. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Unbelievably delicious...and I don't even like eggplant...smoked mozzarella ,fresh basil and panko crumbs instead of bread crumbs make this a super easy and super delicious dish. Be sure to slice the eggplant thinly...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States