Eggplant Parmesan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I just made this tonight and it was great! I cut the recipe in half to feed my family of five and it was perfect. I also cooked some spaghetti and put eggplant with the sauce on top. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelneben

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I used this recipe for dinner and it was amazing!!! I cut the eggplant thin (not length wise but width size). I salted each piece with sea salt for 30 minutes. Rinsed, dried each really well. I used a ziploc bag for the eggs and one for the bread crumbs. Less mess. I followed the directions posted for baking at 450 for 7 minutes. I assembled the eggplant, parmessan and mozzarella as per the directions. Baked for 30 minutes at 350.I absolutely loved this recipe. Will continue to make it for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe today and it was a hit. I just added ricotta cheese with mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses and mixed in mince garlic to the sauce, my husband who is so picky with food he loved it. And my 14th months old baby was asking for more. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very good.just wish the eggplant was crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Yup, great recipe, just be sure to bake longer 20 to 25 minutes also add some shredded parmesan in the middle and top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Wow! This was delicious! I was nervous after reading all the reviews that talked about needing to cook the eggplant longer than 5 mins per side (I saw all the stars and just followed the recipe...with exception to follow. I hate to admit that I am a novice cook, and it really pushed my patience to slice up 3 eggplant, dip, bread and cook all of the slices before assembly. It took me about an hour to get that done!!! I ended up using just 2 eggplant, cause I didn't have any more room in the pan! My thought was...after all this work,this better be D(#% good! Well is WAS!!! Delicious! Will definitely make again...on a lazy or rainy Saturday. Definitely not an "after work" recipe. But the good news is, it makes a LOT, so I am going to divide up and freeze to heat up after work. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I salted and sweated the eggplant (only used 2, not 3), followed by a good rinse and drying, like everyone suggested. I baked the breaded eggplant in the oven at 450 for 7 minutes on each side, and followed the rest of the recipe verbatim. The taste and texture were PERFECT. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Even with all of the positive reviews, I was shocked at how delicious this was. I did as someone suggested and ground oatmeal in my blendtec with some italian spices to use in place of the bread crumbs. Also as someone else had stated, used Hunt's Garlic and Herb spaghetti sauce. I added some red chile flakes and fennel seed to the sauce. Anywhere between 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. each. Cut 1/4 inch eggplant slices. To drain some of the moisture from the eggplant, I put them on a paper towel, salted one side, flipped them over and salted the other side. After sitting for a while, transferred them to new, dry paper towels. As someone suggested, I dipped the eggplant in some flour first. Baked @440* for 10 minutes each side. They turned out beautifully. Served over angel hair pasta. Oh so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Made it tonight, very good. As per my usual, I sliced the eggplant (wipe the knife off after cutting the stem and end off - that's where the bitterness comes from and will "spread" to the rest of the slices if you don't). I placed a single layer in a deep wire colander, salted each layer, and then placed a plate weighted with a bowl of water on top for about a half hour. Rinsed and dried well after. I dipped each slice in flour, then egg, then bread crumb mixture and baked on a greased cookie sheet for 10 minutes each side. I always save leftover homemade sauce in the freezer, and just defrosted a few containers to use for this recipe. Takes some time to prep, but we like it so much better than fried and using a low-fat Italian cheese blend gives lots of flavor. As does adding salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder and 1/4 c parm to the bread crumbs. We will deinitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Awesome! I make this all the time and I am always asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 2,088) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States