Eggplant Parmesan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
First time making this recipe so did not change anything except I never peel my eggplant and I use fresh basil. This is an excellent dish and was quite easy to make. My personal preference is Ichiban eggplant for flavor and texture and uniform slices and have never had one taste bitter. In future, when making it again, I will probably use yellow cornmeal in lieu of bread crumbs and add Italian seasoning to the cornmeal. Yellow cornmeal gives eggplant a much heartier taste whether baked or fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Wonderful recipe. Will become a regular in our home. No problems. Made it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
We tried this after my son said he wanted to try eggplant, and everyone loved it! I didn't soak the eggplant at all, no problems with bitterness. Also, my hubby is lactose intolerant, so after baking the eggplant slices about 15 min on each side, we served them over pasta with the sauce on top, and then the cheese. It looked just like a restaurant meal, and that way, we each got the amount of cheese we like. Definitely make this one again!! Oh, only 2 eggplant for 6 people, and we had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Made this tonight with a few minor changes. I used Panko crumbs and seasoned it with garlic salt, onion powder, dried thyme, basil, rosemary and black pepper. I used a can of organic diced tomatoes and mixed it in the blender with the same seasonings as the panko crumbs and added some minced garlic. I also layered thinly sliced yellow onion on the eggplant. This came out wonderful even my meat eating husband enjoyed it and my 5 yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Very good, but I always leave the skin on, I just like eggplant that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Very good recipe! I'm always a fan of not frying not only because it's healthier but the clean up time is soo much faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Wonderful dish!!!!!! Will probably add more basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
It was very good, my husband and daughter liked it. I've never used eggplant before, so I really should have used some of the recommendations of other reviewers when it came to preparing the eggplant. It turned out a bit too chewy for me for that reason, and I feel like the eggplant should have been cooked longer, maybe an extra 10 minutes? Other than that however, the recipe was very nice and it was eaten up. I added fresh spinach to the recipe, and used a mushroom spaghetti sauce. Next time, I may add some onion. Really enjoyed this meal, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Even my husband can make this and it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Wonderful recipe, only change two things. First I peeled the eggplant and then sliced the eggplant. I put a layer of sliced eggplant in a large colander and sprinkle evenly with salt. Repeat with remaining eggplant, salting, until all eggplant is in the colander. Weigh down the slices with a couple of plates and let drain for 2 hours. This removes the moisture from eggplant before cooking. And continued with the rest of the recipes. Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,973) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States