Eggplant Parmesan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Wow! This was delicious! I was nervous after reading all the reviews that talked about needing to cook the eggplant longer than 5 mins per side (I saw all the stars and just followed the recipe...with exception to follow. I hate to admit that I am a novice cook, and it really pushed my patience to slice up 3 eggplant, dip, bread and cook all of the slices before assembly. It took me about an hour to get that done!!! I ended up using just 2 eggplant, cause I didn't have any more room in the pan! My thought was...after all this work,this better be D(#% good! Well is WAS!!! Delicious! Will definitely make again...on a lazy or rainy Saturday. Definitely not an "after work" recipe. But the good news is, it makes a LOT, so I am going to divide up and freeze to heat up after work. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I salted and sweated the eggplant (only used 2, not 3), followed by a good rinse and drying, like everyone suggested. I baked the breaded eggplant in the oven at 450 for 7 minutes on each side, and followed the rest of the recipe verbatim. The taste and texture were PERFECT. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Even with all of the positive reviews, I was shocked at how delicious this was. I did as someone suggested and ground oatmeal in my blendtec with some italian spices to use in place of the bread crumbs. Also as someone else had stated, used Hunt's Garlic and Herb spaghetti sauce. I added some red chile flakes and fennel seed to the sauce. Anywhere between 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. each. Cut 1/4 inch eggplant slices. To drain some of the moisture from the eggplant, I put them on a paper towel, salted one side, flipped them over and salted the other side. After sitting for a while, transferred them to new, dry paper towels. As someone suggested, I dipped the eggplant in some flour first. Baked @440* for 10 minutes each side. They turned out beautifully. Served over angel hair pasta. Oh so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Made it tonight, very good. As per my usual, I sliced the eggplant (wipe the knife off after cutting the stem and end off - that's where the bitterness comes from and will "spread" to the rest of the slices if you don't). I placed a single layer in a deep wire colander, salted each layer, and then placed a plate weighted with a bowl of water on top for about a half hour. Rinsed and dried well after. I dipped each slice in flour, then egg, then bread crumb mixture and baked on a greased cookie sheet for 10 minutes each side. I always save leftover homemade sauce in the freezer, and just defrosted a few containers to use for this recipe. Takes some time to prep, but we like it so much better than fried and using a low-fat Italian cheese blend gives lots of flavor. As does adding salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder and 1/4 c parm to the bread crumbs. We will deinitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Awesome! I make this all the time and I am always asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This was very simple but delish! I cut it down to 4 servings! Make sure the eggplant is in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This recipe is an excellent starting point for your family's new favorite dish! One large male eggplant was enough for DH and me to have second helpings for dinner as well as lunch the next day. I skipped salting/boiling, layered the breaded slices with parm. cheese EVERY level and used very little sauce (1/4 cup marinara) and moz. to avoid sogginess. Following other posters I baked the casserole in a hot oven (400) for approx. 25 minutes plus for a drier crispy top and tender but not mushy center (personal taste preference). We were out of bread crumbs so I crushed up plain croutons and added Italian seasoning to taste-- delicious! Served over spaghetti (with extra marinara to taste). Delicious left overs!!! In the future I'll make full recipe and freeze half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
this was delicious and full of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Armida F.
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Amazing recipe! I made a nice marinara sauce instead of using store bought spaghetti sauce. I did not sweat the eggplants but I did bake them 10 minutes on each side at 450F. I did flour the slices before putting them in the egg wash and I use a mix of oatmeal flour, Parmesan, Italian seasonings and salt instead of bread crumbs. Will definitely be added to my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Didn't have mozz cheese in the house so I used Parmesan instead. Great flavor overall and easy to prepare. I followed the other reviews and let the eggplant sweat, washed and dried before using. I ran out of egg using two large eggs, so I added a third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,031) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States