Eggplant Parmesan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Made this on 22 Jan 14, read other reviews that suggested salting the eggplant (I did not peel the eggplant) and letting it rest for 20 minutes or so. Which I did, for about and hour to remove excess water. I made a large portion, used 4 medium sized eggplants, 5 eggs, lots of cheese and 4 1/2 jars of spaghetti sauce (2 were basil flavored). I cooked the eggplant for about 20 mins per side and assembled & baked for about an hour. The end result was very yummy, a perfectly golden brown layer of cheese on top and a moist/saucy, cheesy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
this was very good, but don't eat after more than 2 days... it gets bitter and tastes awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I did the sweating, baked at 7 min each side at 450, Put in casserole and baked. Oh my it was good. First time with eggplant. Even my kids liked it and they saw it when I was making it which usually is an immediate yuck. My 14 year old, who asked who had asked if I had a back up plan, had 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
i liked this but bf loved it.. i blame taking it out of the oven too soon bc the eggplant was a little too firm for me.. we cut the recipe in half and only used one medium sized eggplant.. served over linguine.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My family loved this!! It is flavorful and hearty vegetarian dish. I will definitely add to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marknkrista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Wonderful! And so easy! Also healthier than fried eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
As written, this is not a 5 star recipe, but once I made the adjustments suggested by others... this works out to be a "life changing" eggplant... at least in my husband's case. He always hated eggplant but has been a trooper and reluctantly tries any time I make it... until I made this one (with the adjustments from other reviewers)... he basically ate a whole eggplant by himself, foregoing the pasta and other "fall back" sides/favorites of his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It's completely off in both ingredient amounts AND cook times. First of all, I needed around 1.5 eggplants NOT 3. I literally wasted almost 2 eggplants. Second, baking the eggplant for 10 minutes before adding to the sauce and cheese wasn't nearly enough. It should have been baked for around 30-40 minutes before adding it to the main dish. The recipe says it needs to bake for 35 minutes once with sauce and cheese - I baked it for over 2 hours and the eggplant still wasn't cooked enough. Anyways, it all turned out ok but the recipe certainly needs some manipulation to come out edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I never cooked or even tasted eggplant before, but this recipe was easy. The whole family enjoyed it and I will be cooking this again in the near future. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,061) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States