Eggplant Parmesan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Thin means thin...otherwise won't get done in 35 min. Also I think it is as good as the spaghetti sauce you use, otherwise pretty foolproof. It was tasty, especially since I am eating lighter versions of old standards - but does saccharin really taste like sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuxthelux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Caveats : oven at 450 for me, and light drizzle of evoo on the sheet when doing the initial bake. Otherwise, almost impossible to mess up, even with four other people in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Fantastic! I just used this recipe for a SECOND time and I wanted to write my review before I sat down to eat. I love eggplant as a meat alternative during the work week. I bought two from Aldi and needed to use them up before they went bad. This is a very easy recipe. Before I tried this, I always read recipes where the eggplant was fried first and then put in the oven. I do eat fried food, but for some reason, that process turned me off (personal quirk). Anyway, when I found this, I was immediately intrigued. Full disclosure: I always tend to read the reviews along with the recipes. I followed the recipe EXCEPT, I used sea salt to sweat the slices and I baked them for nearly 20 minutes. I didn't turn them over since I used a wire sheet. The sweating process allowed me to make my sauce (always make my own sauce), so the time was productive. My sauce typically includes carrots, zucchini, and onion, so the veggie content is high in this dish for me. I used Italian bread crumbs and I mixed in parmesan and some basil (adore basil). I had a lot of slices, so I built three layers lasagna-style. I also baked for 40 mins then poked to see the tenderness. I ended up baking an additional ten. It smells so good. I'm taking a coworker some tomorrow and as w/Italian food, I know it'll taste even more delicious the second day. GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was amazing and so easy! My husband loved it and even had thirds! He said it was better than Olive Garden! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I've had eggplant before but never eggplant parm. Always wanted to try it so I made it for my husband and toddler. They enjoyed it (which is shocking because my toddler is super picky). But I could barely eat it because it was so bitter. I sweated it for an hour and followed other's advice to bake for longer. The issue could have been the eggplant itself because I live in an area where fresh veggies are hard to come by and I read a review that said fresh eggplant should never be bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
It came out delicious!! I'm new at cooking so it felt great to have made something so yummy =] great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This dish is really good! I didn't have some of the ingredients needed, so I used what I had. I had a shake n' bake bread crumbs that was parmesan crusted flavor and I didn't have mozzarella cheese, but I had fiesta blend of shredded cheese (shredded Monterey jack, cheddar, queso quesadilla & asadero cheese) and grated parmesan. Oh, and no eggs, either. I did bake the eggplant slices for 10 minutes on each side, since it seems everybody else pretty much prefers to do that, too. So, all and all, still very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
The final result was ok, but forgettable. When I got around to eating it I regretted that I used eggplants rather than chicken. I may have chosen a poor choice of sauce, but I enjoyed this less than simple spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Don't know if this was a typo but I layered it with a little sauce at the bottom of the dish then added eggplant, sauce layer, cheese and then repeated. I left the peel on and cooked a bit longer. Leaving the peel on is more nutritious but it can cause bitterness if the eggplant isn't as fresh as it could be. Just an fyi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Me and my fiancé love this dish... However, we used a single eggplant and it made more than enough for this recipe. What was leftover from our eggplant, was nice to snack on while waiting for the dish to complete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rickman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 2,082) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States