Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made this tonight for my family. Even though I like eggplant, I didn't care for the way this dish came together. My husband and I said it was okay. Our kids were a definite no. I love the cheese mixture and will use the cheese mixture in other dishes. All in all, I will make this again and try different other reviewers ideas. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Not terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great recipe my wife didnt like eggplant until last night. I added a cup of sliced fresh mushrooms and 2 cups of finely choped chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I have to say, there are a couple of problems with this recipe as is. First off, I ended up using four eggplants, intead of one. I would have only been able to complete one, maybe two layers with one eggplant. Next, the recipe calls for WAY to much basil. I used 1/4 of what was called for, and I still felt like it was too much. Finally, I left the eggplant "sweat" for more than 3 hours, and I still think it could have used longer. The end result was fair, and it did take a rather long time to brown the eggplant, and assemble the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I love this recipe. FAR better than breaded and fried eggplant. And so much easier. The fresh basil is great, but I'm sure it would be delish with dried basil, too. My eggplant made one layer and I used sliced mushrooms for a second layer. I only needed 24 oz of pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This recipe enlightened me on how to make Eggplant Parmesan. I however changed it up a bit. I sliced 1/4 thick, used flour that I added basil, oregano, paprika, salt, pepper, garlic powder, & onion powder. I dipped the eggplant in milk then into flour mixture, then I fried in olive oil & when browning began I drizzled milk over the eggplant while frying. I layered eggplant, sauce, mozzarella, Monterrey jack, ricotta, & cottage cheese. Then on top I used the same frying process w/ a zucchini & topped the dish w/ fried zucchini. It was amazing. My husband, 5 yr old, & almost 1yr old loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmb62280

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
My husband is used to authentic Italian cooking via my mother in law. This was perfect comfort food since his family lives so far away from us. I didn't like the eggplant baked fresh from the oven...like some reviewers did...but once it is baked, you can't tell the difference from fried. Completely delicious! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKennen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I thought this tasted great and wasn't too difficult to prepare - I coated the eggplant with panko breadcrumbs because I wanted to! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
i've been wanting to make this for my girlfriend and we talked about it after the first few bites - too much basil. I also breaded the eggplant before I pan fried it. The mixture had organic breadcrumbs, parmesan cheese, parsley, oregano, salt, pepper and a bit of dried basil. The cheese mixture was awesome other than all the basil! Gonna do half of that next time and add a few other spices in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
1 Eggplant was not enough so 2-8in long by 5in round at bottom should be enough for at least 2 layers. Other than that it was good! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States