Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Very easy to do and very good! I made my own home made sauce the day before, so on that day it was easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I come from a very traditional, food-loving Italian family and this recipe went over very well at my grandfather's birthday party. In order to prevent the eggplant from soaking up the olive oil, I skipped the sweating step and instead soaked the eggplant slices in a bowl of water for about 20 minutes. We love ricotta cheese, so the incorporation of that into this recipe won it many points. I also like that this recipe doesn't call for a batter of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Heavenly! My hubby and I adore this dish. The only thing I do different is to omit the ricotta and add more mozzarella instead, but that's just a personal preference for me. This has become a regular recipe made in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is an outstanding recipe. I doubled it though and still cooked it in a 13 x 9 pan for 40 minutes. Every flavor is distinct and absolutely compliment one another. I kept the measurements exact and would not add a thing. I used bottled classico marinara with burgundy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made this tonight for my family. Even though I like eggplant, I didn't care for the way this dish came together. My husband and I said it was okay. Our kids were a definite no. I love the cheese mixture and will use the cheese mixture in other dishes. All in all, I will make this again and try different other reviewers ideas. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Not terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great recipe my wife didnt like eggplant until last night. I added a cup of sliced fresh mushrooms and 2 cups of finely choped chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I have to say, there are a couple of problems with this recipe as is. First off, I ended up using four eggplants, intead of one. I would have only been able to complete one, maybe two layers with one eggplant. Next, the recipe calls for WAY to much basil. I used 1/4 of what was called for, and I still felt like it was too much. Finally, I left the eggplant "sweat" for more than 3 hours, and I still think it could have used longer. The end result was fair, and it did take a rather long time to brown the eggplant, and assemble the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I love this recipe. FAR better than breaded and fried eggplant. And so much easier. The fresh basil is great, but I'm sure it would be delish with dried basil, too. My eggplant made one layer and I used sliced mushrooms for a second layer. I only needed 24 oz of pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This recipe enlightened me on how to make Eggplant Parmesan. I however changed it up a bit. I sliced 1/4 thick, used flour that I added basil, oregano, paprika, salt, pepper, garlic powder, & onion powder. I dipped the eggplant in milk then into flour mixture, then I fried in olive oil & when browning began I drizzled milk over the eggplant while frying. I layered eggplant, sauce, mozzarella, Monterrey jack, ricotta, & cottage cheese. Then on top I used the same frying process w/ a zucchini & topped the dish w/ fried zucchini. It was amazing. My husband, 5 yr old, & almost 1yr old loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmb62280

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States