Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great recipe! I'm not fond of eggplant, but this was really good & made even better using my homemade tomato sauce. Liked that the eggplant wasn't breaded and then fried before layering into the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
The taste was really good. The fresh basil was really nice. You need to use a big eggplant cut into big pieces. I think next time, I will use a little less sauce, but it really tasted great. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was my first time making eggplant parmesan, and it turned out great! I will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe, and my first time for this dish, The Hubster dubbed it best Italian dish I ever cooked! I doubled everything except the basil; my homemade fresh tomato sauce had plenty of fresh basil already in it and I only used one egg. Did not sweat the eggplant, I just parboiled it in salted boiling water for 2 minutes. Rinsed the slices in cold water, pressed them between thick layers of paper towels to completely dry and removed the skins. Made two 8x8 pans and put one in the freezer uncooked, for later. We loved the texture of the eggplant without breading, my slices did not absorb much oil, I doubt I needed the whole 8 Ts. Only change I made that was unusual is Smoked Mozerella from Trader Joes...YUMMY! I froze the cheese before shredding/grating, sure makes it easier. Pre-shredded cheese often has weird ingredients in it to keep it from sticking together, and freshly grated just feels better to me! Thanks to Karen for making me look like a pro...served with homemade yeast garlic rolls and fresh salad greens. Will post a photo tonight! UPDATE: this dish didn't survive long enough to take photos! We tore through this like wild animals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Using one eggplant, of average size, was definitely too little. I should have used 2 or 3, and I would bread it next time, as well. I also added more sauce and doubled the mozzarella, as my family can never get enough. I may have to add pasta to this dish because it will, otherwise, be too sparse. Otherwise, it was great and will serve as my base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
well this is simple and satisfying when you need to get some cheese in your life. i dig eggplant for its earthiness and the cheese... well, cheese is just plain good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
My husband and I are totally addicted to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is my first time cooking or making an egg plant dish. It was really good and easy to make. One thing I did forget to do was mix the mozzarella cheese with the ricotta so I ended up, cooking the dish for 25 min and adding the mozzarella on top and cooked until bubbly. I think it was better this way. I also did what other reviews suggested and dipped the egg plant into bread crumbs and then cooked in the pan and baked. I would have used 15 oz of ricotta also. My husband loved the dish and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I GUESS WITH RICOTTA ,JUST MITE BE GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Wow, packed with flavor! A little intense on the prep time, but well worth the effort! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States