Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was awesome! I have never cooked eggplant before and was very nervous cooking this for my Italian husband (who cooks very well) lol ... But this was a hit! I am totally making this hopefully one a week. The only thing I did differently, was I added more ricotta & mozzarella cheese than stated. (We are cheese lovers here) Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I first want to say that it tastes really good. That being said, it's all sauce! I feel like I made a creamy spaghetti sauce and stirred a little eggplant in. I actually cooked some pasta so I could use up all the excess sauce. I only used 3 cups of sauce and I probably could have used half of that and it would have been fine. If I make this again, I think I will add lasagna noodles to the pan, or at least double the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I cut the eggplant very thinly (about 1/4 in) then "browned" them in a non-stick skillet of medium-high heat for about 3 minutes per side (they don't necessarily brown though...just soften). Then I sauteed two summer squashes with one onion until soft, but not mushy. I added three cloves minced garlic toward the end. Then I layered sauce, eggplant, cheese mixture, squash and onion, sauce... Then topped with lots of mozzarella and parm cheese. It was a hit! My two year old and husband even really enjoyed this 'no pasta lasagna'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great recipe! I'm not fond of eggplant, but this was really good & made even better using my homemade tomato sauce. Liked that the eggplant wasn't breaded and then fried before layering into the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
The taste was really good. The fresh basil was really nice. You need to use a big eggplant cut into big pieces. I think next time, I will use a little less sauce, but it really tasted great. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was my first time making eggplant parmesan, and it turned out great! I will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe, and my first time for this dish, The Hubster dubbed it best Italian dish I ever cooked! I doubled everything except the basil; my homemade fresh tomato sauce had plenty of fresh basil already in it and I only used one egg. Did not sweat the eggplant, I just parboiled it in salted boiling water for 2 minutes. Rinsed the slices in cold water, pressed them between thick layers of paper towels to completely dry and removed the skins. Made two 8x8 pans and put one in the freezer uncooked, for later. We loved the texture of the eggplant without breading, my slices did not absorb much oil, I doubt I needed the whole 8 Ts. Only change I made that was unusual is Smoked Mozerella from Trader Joes...YUMMY! I froze the cheese before shredding/grating, sure makes it easier. Pre-shredded cheese often has weird ingredients in it to keep it from sticking together, and freshly grated just feels better to me! Thanks to Karen for making me look like a pro...served with homemade yeast garlic rolls and fresh salad greens. Will post a photo tonight! UPDATE: this dish didn't survive long enough to take photos! We tore through this like wild animals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Using one eggplant, of average size, was definitely too little. I should have used 2 or 3, and I would bread it next time, as well. I also added more sauce and doubled the mozzarella, as my family can never get enough. I may have to add pasta to this dish because it will, otherwise, be too sparse. Otherwise, it was great and will serve as my base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
well this is simple and satisfying when you need to get some cheese in your life. i dig eggplant for its earthiness and the cheese... well, cheese is just plain good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
My husband and I are totally addicted to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States