Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Sorry but I still like my own recipe much better. I'm more of a just plain mozzarella kind of a guy. Never did care for ricotta. The only thing I got out of this to make my own recipe better was to use the fresh chopped basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I make this with fresh eggplant every year- my roommates look forward to it and ask when I am going to make it! I bread and fry the eggplant so it has some crisp to it- but the ricotta cheese makes it taste so decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I gave this 4 stars but with the changes I made I think it deserves 5 stars. *I breaded & fried the eggplant slices (dredge in flour, dip in egg and coat with bread crumbs). *I used meat sauce (ground beef fried and added to your favorite sauce). *I used parmesan cheese with the ricotta mixture and mozzarella on top. This rivals the best dishes I've had at Italian restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I ate something similar at a restaurant, and wanted to try this approach to eggplant. To make it more lasagna-like, I sliced the eggplant more like 1/4" thick, and only briefly sauteed the slices before putting them in the pan. It was fabulous, and the proportions of cheese, sauce, and eggplant listed here were pretty much perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
LOVED this. Even though it's a lot of work, it's fantastic for when eggplant is finally in season. Watch out for spatters when you're frying it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was my first try at an eggplant parm and it was delicious! My only suggestion would be to amp up the flavors a bit with some garlic and pepper. I actually had no ricotta and substituted with small-curd cottage cheese and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very good recipe -- nice change from how we usually cook it. Some might want to peel the eggplant first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was WAY better than I thought it would be. For some reason I thought I would need to double the recipe for just the 4 of us and it was WAY too much. But still very delicious. I did follow the other reviews and breaded the eggplant before frying it. And I didn't notice the fresh basil when I went shopping so I just used a little basil seasoning. I also think we used a little too much sauce on ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This was very good. Even my husband who doesn't like eggplant ate this and said it was good. I did use a mixture of mozzarella and cheddar cheese because I did not have enough mozzarella and it turned out great. Also added some fresh garlic and onion powder to the eggplant while browning in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Delicious delicious! This was very easy and my friends loved it. I didn't have ricotta cheese at hand so I substituted with extra soft tofu and no one realized until I said anything. I wish I had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States