Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I thought this was delicious! But I have to agree with the other reviewers that thought that this was more like an eggplant lasagna than eggplant parmesan. You really loose out on the "parmesan" part when you don't bread and fry the eggplant, but this method is a little healthier. I also thought that you needed to double the amount of eggplant or lessen the amount of cheese. We did make this and then serve it over spaghetti noodles, and make our sauce with italian sausage. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
My husband and I made this dish tonight and followed the recipe almost exactly. The only changes we made were to buy more than one eggplant (good decision one would have not been enough) and to use more than 8 0z of Ricotta. When we spread it in the dish it did not cover enough. However, if I was to do this recipe again I might try a few different things as I didn't think this was the best I have ever had or anything. We tried to be healthy and not bread fry the eggplant but I think next time we would. Also next time I might try using half ricotta and half cottage cheese. All and all a good recipe but I think I might try these suggestions I have made or maybe find a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I thought this recipe was YUMMY! I baked the eggplant instead of frying it and added sliced vine ripened tomatoes as an additional layer. I also didn't add the egg to the cheese mixture and dolloped the mixture as someone else had suggested. I sprinkled the top with more mozz and parm and cooked until it was brown and bubbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbillmai

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is surely a keeper!!! The only thing I did different was fry the eggplant in egg and bread crumb. DELISH. I will def. make this again. Even my 3 and 7 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Too cheesy! The cheese mixture overtook the eggplant. This recipe is more like eggplant lasagna. Not at all what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Even my husband liked this and he's a picky eater :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I have made this for groups of 30 or more. Always the hit of the meal! Nutritious and low carb! One of my favorite recipes for main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I am not much of an eggplant eater. My husband thought this was good. A friend gave me a few from her garden and I did not want them to go to waste. The eggplants were small (3). I did do the sweating process then I roasted the slice eggplants as others suggested. I did not have enough eggplant to layer as the directions stated. If I make this again I will make sure I have enough Eggplants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I followed some advice by others and just roasted the eggplant slices after spraying both sides with cooking spray, for about 20 mins. at 400 degrees. It worked great, and I liked not having to fry them in oil and also kept the dish healthier. I would definitely recommend slicing the eggplant in thick slices as called for. However, I found in doing so that I needed more eggplant, as I had too much sauce. Next time, the only other change I would make is using 2 eggplant instead of one. Thanks for the fabulous recipe....it was perfect for my vegetarian night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was a great recipe, but I would use less sauce and make sure the eggplant slices are no less than the reccommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States