Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I've never been able to prepare ggplant correctly until I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
My family loved this recipe! I did make a couple of changes, I roasted the eggplant in the oven at 400°F for 20 minutes as someone else suggested to make a bit healthier, just sprayed each side with olive oil cooking spray. I added some mozarella cheese along with the parmesan on top, because we all love cheese. We didn't have a bit of leftover, just guys complaining that they ate way too much! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is the way I make my eggplant parmigiana all the time, with the exception of frying the eggplant in vegetable oil instead of the olive oil, I usually use my deep fryer. This particular time I did omit the ricotta, only because I didn't have any. That does make a wonderful addition, and puts this over the top. I do prefer to use 2 eggplants, we prefer thicker layers. Just play around with this recipe, depending on the size of the eggplants being used, you may need more than one to fill a 9x13 pan. This is one of my favorite dishes and I serve this over linguine with a side of garlic bread. You could easily add more mozzarella also, just "eyeball" to suit your tastes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Wasn't the best - but okay. Lots of sauce. Not enough eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is truly an excellent recipe. It is good both as a stand alone dinner or as a side. The only change I make is to use only one tablespoon of olive oil. I use a 12 inch covered frying pan and cook over medium heat, turning every few minutes until the eggplant is tender. I have also added chicken breast, pounded thin and sauteed, to the layers of eggplant with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
A delicious way to use the abundant summer eggplant! This recipe seems to be pretty flexible with amounts and substitutions of everything. I think I used more eggplant than called for, used cottage cheese instead of ricotta, colby jack instead of mozzarella, and added an additional egg. Substitutions were because of what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Yummy! I roasted the eggplant in the oven, as previous reviewers suggested. I used on jar of pasta sauce, and added just a little more ricotta cheese and mozzarella. The fresh basil gives it a wonderful flavor. It is definitely more like lasagna, but who cares when it is this good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Good stuff. My daughter actually ate all of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
We planted eggplant this year and I wondered what to do with them. This recipe has become a family favorite. My husband (the vegetarian) raved about it and my daughter (the picky one) even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I thought this was delicious! But I have to agree with the other reviewers that thought that this was more like an eggplant lasagna than eggplant parmesan. You really loose out on the "parmesan" part when you don't bread and fry the eggplant, but this method is a little healthier. I also thought that you needed to double the amount of eggplant or lessen the amount of cheese. We did make this and then serve it over spaghetti noodles, and make our sauce with italian sausage. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States