Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Wasn't the best - but okay. Lots of sauce. Not enough eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is truly an excellent recipe. It is good both as a stand alone dinner or as a side. The only change I make is to use only one tablespoon of olive oil. I use a 12 inch covered frying pan and cook over medium heat, turning every few minutes until the eggplant is tender. I have also added chicken breast, pounded thin and sauteed, to the layers of eggplant with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
A delicious way to use the abundant summer eggplant! This recipe seems to be pretty flexible with amounts and substitutions of everything. I think I used more eggplant than called for, used cottage cheese instead of ricotta, colby jack instead of mozzarella, and added an additional egg. Substitutions were because of what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Yummy! I roasted the eggplant in the oven, as previous reviewers suggested. I used on jar of pasta sauce, and added just a little more ricotta cheese and mozzarella. The fresh basil gives it a wonderful flavor. It is definitely more like lasagna, but who cares when it is this good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Good stuff. My daughter actually ate all of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
We planted eggplant this year and I wondered what to do with them. This recipe has become a family favorite. My husband (the vegetarian) raved about it and my daughter (the picky one) even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I thought this was delicious! But I have to agree with the other reviewers that thought that this was more like an eggplant lasagna than eggplant parmesan. You really loose out on the "parmesan" part when you don't bread and fry the eggplant, but this method is a little healthier. I also thought that you needed to double the amount of eggplant or lessen the amount of cheese. We did make this and then serve it over spaghetti noodles, and make our sauce with italian sausage. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
My husband and I made this dish tonight and followed the recipe almost exactly. The only changes we made were to buy more than one eggplant (good decision one would have not been enough) and to use more than 8 0z of Ricotta. When we spread it in the dish it did not cover enough. However, if I was to do this recipe again I might try a few different things as I didn't think this was the best I have ever had or anything. We tried to be healthy and not bread fry the eggplant but I think next time we would. Also next time I might try using half ricotta and half cottage cheese. All and all a good recipe but I think I might try these suggestions I have made or maybe find a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I thought this recipe was YUMMY! I baked the eggplant instead of frying it and added sliced vine ripened tomatoes as an additional layer. I also didn't add the egg to the cheese mixture and dolloped the mixture as someone else had suggested. I sprinkled the top with more mozz and parm and cooked until it was brown and bubbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbillmai

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is surely a keeper!!! The only thing I did different was fry the eggplant in egg and bread crumb. DELISH. I will def. make this again. Even my 3 and 7 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States