Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Delicious. If you actually cut the eggplant in 3/4" slices as instructed, you'd be lucky to cover the bottom of the 9x13 pan and definitely wouldn't have enough for a second layer. I cut mine in ~1/2" slices, and had just over one layer. Next time I will get two medium eggplants. Why not make it a little healthier by adding more vegetables relative to cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
My biggest peeve is this is NOT Eggplant Parmigian(not parmesan either), it is eggplant lasagna, totally different. Secondly, one should note that you need to make sure you pat the slices dry before you add to the hot oil. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
We loved this, maybe next time I'll cut back on the ricotta just a bit. I breaded the eggplant in seasoned bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese before layering everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I rarely look forward to leftovers but I did with this dish. It was wonderful! I didn't have ricotta, but I just substituted sour cream. A note about the olive oil, don't keep adding more. The amount for the recipe is sufficient. If you keep adding more you are going to end up with very oily eggplant. Mine was fine, but I know from prior experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hendrickson
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Amaziiiiiiiing! Use organic coconut oil to fry eggplant! That way u can add xtra coconut oil and not worry about what soaks in since coconut oil is very healthy for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Ghenwa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Quite tasty. I've made this a couple of times. I love eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizette McKinley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Loved it..made a couple of changes.. no ricotta around so I used cottage cheese. I also added slices of potatoes, seasoned both layers with salt and pepper and voila..delic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Loved it. And one of the first times I cooked eggplant. Yikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Waltz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I will definitely try this recipe again. As it was a last minute decision I did not have the cheese on hand and substituted with goat cheese and cheddar. Also the pasta sauce contained basil but I didn't have fresh basil on hand. However it was still delicious so I imagine next time with the correct ingredients will be even better. Also as per some comments I also dipped the eggplant in egg and then breadcrumbs. Only negative is that that it uses alot of oil for frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
We really enjoyed this dish. An easier and lower fat / calorie way to precook the eggplant is to spray it with oil or brush a little on, then put it under the broiler until it browns. Turn the slices and repeat oiling and broiling. I've never found it necessary to rub with salt first. I also substitute cottage cheese, whizzed in the food processor for the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States