Eggplant Parmesan Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
As is, this recipe is pretty good. I followed the directions exactly and found there to be a bit too much sauce for my liking. Truth be told, I thought the casserole was just okay but my family seemed to like it so that bumps it up to four stars. I doubt I'll be making this again but it was nice to try something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was a yum. I did use half the bread crumbs but everything else was according to chef John. I did use my own eggplant which made it even better. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Even though I liked this dish, my kids did not. It was a blander than I was expecting and the crumb topping was too overwhelming. If I make this again, I'd add some thyme or basil to the cheese mixture and cut back on the crumb topping. I also think you could save time by cutting the eggplant in medallions and creating layers. I would recommend roasting or pan frying the eggplant since it tends to be a little mushy if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loriberkheimer
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was delicious! I liked it even more since I used eggplant from my garden. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Very tasty. It was even better for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Fantastic! SOOOO Goood! My boyfriend and I are beginner cooks, and the recipe was easy to follow. I'm a long time fried eggplant fan, and it was terrific to have a healthier option. We followed everything except we used less oil for the eggplant and re-coated the pan for each batch. Also, we ended up needing more cheese mixture, so use sparingly or make extra. Don't leave out the red pepper flakes. The sauce is the best part, and that's the part that gives it the kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Not bad! The only thing is I burnt the top of the casserole following the recipe :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Delicious!!!i was skeptical , i hate casseroles, but love eggplant, easy quick and so much flavor!!!!! Will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I left out the ricotta and after I sauteed the cubed eggplant I added the cooked ground beef and spaghetti sauce to the same pan. I use 2 large eggplant and cut about 6 slices out of each and cubed the rest. I added some fresh basil, italian seasoning and oregano to the sauce. I used about 1 1/2 cups of parm cheese for the inside of the casserole and 1 1/2 cups with the panko breadcrumbs for the topping. I made it in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
First time ever cooking eggplant and it worked out great! Cheated a bit on the vegetarian theme and added a little bit of sausage to the sauce. Served it with a side of spaghetti with a drizzle of olive oil and basil. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States