Eggplant Parmesan Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Overall, we liked this recipe. I halved the recipe for just us two, and subbed sour cream, not having ricotta on hand. I like that you use the entire eggplant - chopped bits in the sauce. I also followed one review about layering the slices to save effort and time :) I botched the crumb topping; it was a bit soggy. (I had forgotten the olive oil in the crumb mix until the casserole had been in the oven for 10 min, so drizzled on top then back into the oven - my bad.) I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
We have a large family so I made 9 servings. I substituted the pepper jack cheese with an Italian blend that has asiago, provolone and mozzarella because I like the softer cheeses in Italian cooking. I also added an egg to the ricotta to make it less dense. The red pepper added a nice spice to this delicious meatless dish. Instead of making little 'taco' filled eggplant slices, I layered them and baked them in my extra large iron skillet. This did take almost 2 hours from beginning to end to make, but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Newcomb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Another winner from Chef John, saved to the recipe box. The only change was using an Arrabbiata sauce and no red chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
As is, this recipe is pretty good. I followed the directions exactly and found there to be a bit too much sauce for my liking. Truth be told, I thought the casserole was just okay but my family seemed to like it so that bumps it up to four stars. I doubt I'll be making this again but it was nice to try something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Ka-t

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was a yum. I did use half the bread crumbs but everything else was according to chef John. I did use my own eggplant which made it even better. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Even though I liked this dish, my kids did not. It was a blander than I was expecting and the crumb topping was too overwhelming. If I make this again, I'd add some thyme or basil to the cheese mixture and cut back on the crumb topping. I also think you could save time by cutting the eggplant in medallions and creating layers. I would recommend roasting or pan frying the eggplant since it tends to be a little mushy if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Berkheimer
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was delicious! I liked it even more since I used eggplant from my garden. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Berkheimer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Very tasty. It was even better for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Fantastic! SOOOO Goood! My boyfriend and I are beginner cooks, and the recipe was easy to follow. I'm a long time fried eggplant fan, and it was terrific to have a healthier option. We followed everything except we used less oil for the eggplant and re-coated the pan for each batch. Also, we ended up needing more cheese mixture, so use sparingly or make extra. Don't leave out the red pepper flakes. The sauce is the best part, and that's the part that gives it the kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Not bad! The only thing is I burnt the top of the casserole following the recipe :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States