Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I made this tonight and it was by far one of the best lasagna dishes my husband and I have ever had. Not filling and heavy at all. I used panko crumbs seasoned with Italian herbs. I also used both eggplant and young zucchini since I did not have enough eggplant. For the sauce I used ground turkey instead of beef and seasoned my sauce with garlic and Italian seasoning. I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amimo's lily african fusion
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time last week and my family loved it! I gave it a bit of an East African twist .I love it because it is healthy and inexpensive! I made my tomato sauce from scratch using fresh tomatoes, onions, parsley, basil, pepper , soy sauce, garlic and Kenyan sausages. Since cheese is expensive in Kenya, I made a cheese sauce using Kenyan Highland's Cheddar cheese, milk, and flour. This way there was enough cheese to make two layers. On the top, I sprinkled cheese over the cheese sauce followed by home made bread crumbs. I also added E.African spices like coriander spice mix and dried chillies. The whole family went to bed satisfied and with a smile on their faces! That's what i love to call cooking from the soul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amimo's lily african fusion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Took a little more than 20 minutes to prep, especially with baking the eggplant rounds in a separate step, but it was easy to put together and delicious to eat. I used Panko breadcrumbs instead of Italian which added a better texture. Some oregano and basil would need to be added to salt and pepper for the breadcrumb and cheese mixture to compensate in terms of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe was awesome!!! I used really lean meat and followed all steps. Kids and wife loved it! I cut up extra mushrooms and added it to the sauce while it simmered with the meat. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is just eggplant parmesan with ground meat added. EPP, my favorite Italian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I loved it . I substituted a 1/3 of a lb.of ground meat with a 1/3 lb.of Italian sweet sausage. This is a perfect recipe as is and easily adjusted to whatever taste you wanted ... Ü ... johnnyg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Pretty much like Eggplant Parmigiana, except it has ground meat added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
With One cup of bread crumbs, this is not a low carb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Isn't this Eggplant Parmesan?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe! Seems like it will be bland but is very flavorful. Was concerned about not salting and draining the eggplant, it wasn't necessary. I did add some garlic to the sauce and some extra cheese. But those were really my only changes. Very good my whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Rettger Hukill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacombe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States