Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Don't forget to PEEL the eggplant! I also skipped the meat and used ragu rather than tomato sauce. I'm sure I made other tweeks in the recipe but it came out good and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Two things: 1)If you use the Dinner-Spinner app to create a shopping list for this, it changes amounts. The list had me buy 3 eggplants instead of 2, and only 3 oz of Parmesan. I didn't notice the discrepancy until after I'd sliced up all 3 eggplants. Good thing we like eggplant; I'll just bake them up by themselves. 2) The prep time apparently assumes that the eggplants magically peel and slice themselves, as it took me a good 20 minutes just to accomplish this, slicing them length-wise to make noodle-like strips. (Admittedly, my husband had accidentally thrown away the good peeler, leaving me to use the one that bends out of shape if you push down too hard, but still!) That said, it did turn out to be very tasty. I might try it again - after I buy a very sturdy vegetable peeler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Park

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Great dish! Yummy, we loved it! Used ground turkey instead of beef per our preference and used one very large eggplant other than that followed recipe as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Amazing made it in 1 2 3 !!!! I added some mushrooms and some garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mili T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
It turned out great! I wasn't very hard and I loved it the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Awesome!!! Takes forever to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
After I made this my husband declared it "my opus"! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
loved this recipe. I never had eggplant before so thought I would try it. I think the roasted eggplant was the difference between mushy and firm. I did not add the parmesan(to cut calories)but used drops of ricotta on middle layer then topped with a little parmesan after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Excellent! My husband told me this is the best meal I've ever made. I have to say, though, that this is best eaten right away after cooking. This is definitely not a cook-ahead recipe. The leftovers left a lot to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
The preparation of the eggplant makes all the difference. I've tried other eggplant lasagna recipes, and they were disappointing. The eggplant was either overdry and tough or gooey. In either case, it stood out and didn't "pass" as well for pasta. I prefer to peel the eggplant and slice it lengthwise into strips the approximate width of a lasagna noodle. Start with the strips a little wider than the size you wish them to be, as they will shrink in the over. Other than using eggplant instead of noodles, you can follow your own lasagna recipe. I like to mix thawed, chopped frozen spinach (which has been COMPLETELY drained and squeezed dry) into ricotta (or cottage) cheese, along with an egg and some shredded parmesan, to use as one of the layers. I also like using Sargento's 6-cheese Italian better than straight mozzarella. Less stringy and more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States