Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
My family loved this lasagna!! I followed the recipe exactly as written except I had extra bread crumbs left so I spread them over the top layer and held off on the top layer of Mozzarella until it came out of the oven after 45 minutes at 350. Everyone came back for seconds. Good low carb dish. I will be making it often. DJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I loved this recipe, but made changes to make it gluten free. Since I was cooking for only my husband and me I used only one eggplant. I coated the eggplant slices (sliced vertically) with the egg/water mixture and dipped them in ground pecans and parmesan instead of the breadcrumbs. I have been using ground pecans and parmesan to bread chicken and fish as well. Pecans remain crisp and lend a nice crunchy texture and good taste. I also used bottled spaghetti sauce and seasoned the beef with 1 tsp. each of salt, fennel seed, and red pepper flakes along with a pinch of ground black pepper. The fennel gives the beef an Italian sausage flavor. In the lasagna layers I added a layer of ricotta mixed with one egg. The result was wonderful and gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I added a layer of ricotta cheese and used ground turkey breast. This was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I made this tonight and it was by far one of the best lasagna dishes my husband and I have ever had. Not filling and heavy at all. I used panko crumbs seasoned with Italian herbs. I also used both eggplant and young zucchini since I did not have enough eggplant. For the sauce I used ground turkey instead of beef and seasoned my sauce with garlic and Italian seasoning. I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amimo's lily african fusion
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time last week and my family loved it! I gave it a bit of an East African twist .I love it because it is healthy and inexpensive! I made my tomato sauce from scratch using fresh tomatoes, onions, parsley, basil, pepper , soy sauce, garlic and Kenyan sausages. Since cheese is expensive in Kenya, I made a cheese sauce using Kenyan Highland's Cheddar cheese, milk, and flour. This way there was enough cheese to make two layers. On the top, I sprinkled cheese over the cheese sauce followed by home made bread crumbs. I also added E.African spices like coriander spice mix and dried chillies. The whole family went to bed satisfied and with a smile on their faces! That's what i love to call cooking from the soul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amimo's lily african fusion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Took a little more than 20 minutes to prep, especially with baking the eggplant rounds in a separate step, but it was easy to put together and delicious to eat. I used Panko breadcrumbs instead of Italian which added a better texture. Some oregano and basil would need to be added to salt and pepper for the breadcrumb and cheese mixture to compensate in terms of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe was awesome!!! I used really lean meat and followed all steps. Kids and wife loved it! I cut up extra mushrooms and added it to the sauce while it simmered with the meat. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe so I couldn't rate it. However, I enjoy lasagna and I love eggplant parmesan (the traditional way). So I'd have to say it's not the recipe for me. I'm not really a fan of "merging" dishes. So I will continue to make them separately. I have tried baking the eggplant for the eggplant parmesan, but it's just not the same, so I dip it in eggs and flour and fry it in olive oil and then drain it. Everyone loves it and it's probably one of about three fried or sautéed dishes that I make so I don't worry about that aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Sr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is just eggplant parmesan with ground meat added. EPP, my favorite Italian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Isn't this recipe basically eggplant parmesan?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States