Eggplant Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Tasty! I used home-grown Japanese eggplants, split them in half, drizzled some olive oil over them and baked them in the oven for 20 minutes at 350°. That gave them a nice roasted flavour. I used a fancy Mexican cheese blend instead of just cheddar and added Italian seasonings and cumin to the cheese mix. I then baked the patties for 20 minutes total, flipping them after 10 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I also added an additional 1/2 cup of bread crumbs and I used about 3/4 cup of cheese rather than the full cup. Then I BAKED them for about 20-25 min. at 350 and flipped them once halfway through. Since they started to look more and more like hamburgers, I decided to go with it...I put one of these on a bun with ketchup, lettuce, mayo, tomato, etc. and it was awesome! It tasted just like a regular burger. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
My husband and I both loved them! I halved the recipe since I only had one eggplant. I did not want to fry them, so I "pan fried" them in the oven--I put the oil on a pan and into the oven. When hot and sizzling I added the croquettes, turning half way through cooking. It was a great alternative cooking method. I think next time I'll use a little less oil. I'll be making them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
These we absolutely delicious! My mother made them and loved them too. We steamed eggplant instead of microwaving. Only needed one egg. It is a very wet, sticky batter. Suggest you scoop out with spatula, form patties on cookie sheet and refrigerate before frying. They were worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe, but I wanted more veggies, so I've made some alterations. Which pretty much makes it a completely different recipe. First off, I used 1 large eggplant, diced it, then microwaved. I sauteed 1/2 red onion and 1/2 cup of diced carrots in about 1 tablespoon of olive oil until browned on slightly above Med heat. I let both the eggplant and the onion/carrot mixture cool before mixing with the other ingredients. I also added 1/2 cup of diced black olives and 1/3 cup of canned corn (drained) and 1/3 cup of diced canned mushrooms (fresh are good too). I added about 1/4 cup extra bread crumbs and 1/3 cup extra cheese. I sprinkled in the bread crumbs in order to prevent lumps. I omitted the parsley and added 1/4 teaspoon ground cayenne, and 1/8 teaspoon ginger. For the frying, I added 1/4 cup of peanut oil to 3/4 cup vegetable oil. The whole patty making process is an art. First, you gotta use your hands. And second, it's all about making them as thin as possible (to cook evenly), while making sure they're thick enough to not break. If you are freezing these, I recommend frying before freezing. After frying & patting dry, put them on a plate & stick in the freezer for at least 1 hour, then place in freezer bags. To reheat, bake them on a cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 10-20 minutes (depending on the thickness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Best eggplant recipe i've tried! i used 2 zucchini in place of one of the eggplants and low carb bread crumbs...still awesome and very low in carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
These are quick, easy and a great way to get kids to eat eggplant! I only use one egg, chopped onion and I bake them at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes (you'll need to flip them halfway through).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Weird and delicious! These would make good appetizers for a party. We ate ours as burgers like another reviewer suggested here, and they were great that way. I had some jarred red peppers on hand from another recipe, and I chopped a bit up and threw them in the mix, and they complimented this recipe really well. Also added alot more spices, a few shakes of garlic salt, basil, and italian seasonings, and seasoned the patties with garlic pepper while I was frying. Versatile recipe, we'll make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I was very pleasantly surprised by these! I'm not a big fan of eggplant but I'm always up for trying new things and I'm glad I did! Next time I might saute the onions before mixing them with the other ingredients. . .they didn't quite cook all the way. But other than that, these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I'm cooking like crazy this week, trying to prepare ahead of time for our daughter's birthday party this weekend. I love eggplant, so I thought I'd make these as an appetizer. I HAD to sneak one for lunch! I put a little tomato sauce and ricotta on top and it was great. Thanks Kelli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States