Eggplant Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made this for my wife, who is a picky vegetarian and she really enjoyed it (as did I). I made a half order, so only one eggplant. I mashed it but didn't like the results I was getting so I threw it in the food processor for a couple seconds. I made 8 small patties, which was perfect for the two of us. Instead of frying them, I broiled them on a low shelf for 15 mins, raised then up to the top shelf for 2, flipped them and moved them back down to a lower shelf for another 15 - 20, and then back up to the top for another 2. They came out with a crunchy exterior and a well cooked center, not mushy inside. I felt that they were a touch salty, so I would back off the salt and check my seasoned breadcrumbs for salt content next time. I served them with a soy/rice wine/sesame sauce. Not the right choice and we ended up not using it. They were fine on their own. Next time I think I will try a tzadziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Family thought it was good, I added flour because they seemed really sticky but I thought they were pretty disgusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
These are great! I baked the eggplant and pureed in my food processor. Only used Parm cheese, no cheddar and made them into meatballs. Baked them in the oven, no frying and served them in tomato sauce with spagetti. They look like real meatballs and taste great, everyone loved them. I made a huge bunch, baked and individually froze the balls for future use. Great meat substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Very tasty! I omitted the cheese and used zatar seasoning instead of parsley. This recipe has room for tweaks or is great on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I have no idea what I could have done wrong, but the eggplant simply would not get soft enough to mash. I tried microwaving it longer, but that didn't help either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I make these all the time ... My kids gobble them up. I add a cup of cooked quinoa and generally any combination of cheese I have (mozzarella feta asiago) bake them at 375 for about 25 minutes on parchment paper flipping half way thru, browns them nicely no need to fry. Always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Mansfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I was never a fan of eggplant until I made this last night...wow!! I'm making them again for dinner tonight! I used one large eggplant and added about a half a cup of cracker crumbs in addition to the breadcrumbs (ran out of breadcrumbs) to get the right consistency. I also added more cheese, threw in some oregano instead of the parsley (didn't have it on hand), and doubled the garlic. The onions added a nice crunch and I'm glad I didn't sauté them beforehand! Planning on serving them tonight over a bed of fresh spinach with a scoop of herbed corn (another recipe from this website) on top! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yourebeautiifull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I loved it. Anyone who likes eggplant should enjoy this recipe. I used stuffing crumbs (not with water added) and grilled the croquettes in my George Foreman = less calories BY FAR. Nice in a great Stadium Bun with mayo, mustard, Swiss cheese and Bread 'n Butter pickles. I halved the recipe and it made three good-sized patties. Of course, my non-eating eggplant husband was disappointed but finished his burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Loved this recipe! I think it would make a cool appetizer with parmesan peppercorn dipping sauce or ranch. For an appetizer I would make very small patties or balls. I only used 1 egg and 1 eggplant. I increased the breadcrumbs a little so the patties were firmer. I also pan fried them as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Very good flavor but came out better baked. I tried both, they didnt hold up being fried so I baked them and they are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States