Eggplant Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe is so amazing! I followed the recipe almost exactly as is except I used some fresh Italian parsley that I diced up. I halved the recipe since I only had one eggplant and it turned out so delicious. I made my own bread crumbs by putting a couple of pieces of bread in the oven at 250 degrees Fahrenheit for about 30 minutes then crushed them in a plastic bag (I added Italian seasoning to the bread crumbs to make them "Italian"). The only challenge I had with these were keeping them to stay together during the initial frying process. You have to be very careful or they will split. Also, keep the oil temperature on medium low- that is what worked for me. Otherwise they just get too crispy too quickly! I also like frying in a small pot that has sides high enough so that oil doesn't crackle and spit and jump out of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
absolutely delicious. Cooking them was a bit of trial and error, we started off setting them in a pan of oil and baking them in the oven. Then we drained the oil and continued baking so they could get nice and crisp. Next time, we will pan fry them first and then finish off in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was a hit with everyone! Even the picky eaters. I used crushed butter garlic croutons instead of bread crumbs and added Italian seasoning to it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Diced and cooked a medium zucchini with the diced eggplant. WOW! FANTASTIC! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sneakyteaky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great recipe! Eggplant had the sweetness and texture of cardoon. Ran out of cheddar so subbed in some mozzarella. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I only had one eggplant so I shredded a medium zucchini to add instead. It has a loose consistency but I decided to grill them anyway using a grill sauté pan ( it has lots of little holes in it). They were fantastic!!! I melted asiago cheese over the top. Soooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This turned out great! The eggplant is hidden since it is mashed- I microwaved it for 8 minutes then pureed in my blender, so my kiddos ate these as cheesy pancakes, not minding the eggplant at all. I used mozzarella and parmesan, along with asiago cheeses and used oatmeal instead of bread crumbs. Cooked them like pancakes on my griddle with olive oil. Would definitely consider using marinara as a topping next time- think it would complement these wonderfully! Thanks for a fresh way to use my abundance of eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Even my meat loving husband admitted these would make a great burger. Crisp on the outside, al dente on the inside. I think the patties could fall apart if the eggplant isn’t mashed REALLY well. We microwaved the eggplant much longer than prescribed, lightly blended it in a processor, then used a fine strainer to rid of excess liquid. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. TIP: Sticking patties in oil that isn’t hot enough will make for soggy patties. Heat the oil first and make sure you hear a nice sizzle when the patties first go in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Recipe got a "Can I have more eggplant?" from my daughter. Win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quilla Miralia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States