Eggplant Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My husband and I loved these burgers. I tried it both thinly sliced and as suggested in the recipe and loved the thicker recipe version more. Because we love spicy food, pepper jack and pimento peppers were the only alternatives made. My husband was sceptical about these but changed his mind after the first bite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
These aren't going to fool anyone about its being a burger. It has the meatiness like portabello mushrooms do. As good as the spices or toppings you choose. 'Doubt I'll make 'em again. 'Didn't microwave, just panned 'em. And I think the 20 ounce bottle of ketchup may be too much. ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Delicious and easy! My boyfriend and I loved them. Like other reviewers, I only cooked in the microwave for 2 minutes. I'll be sure to cut the slices a little thicker next time, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I did not care for this. All the eggplant did was adsorb all the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I made these because of all the great reviews. Even only microwaving for 2 mins makes eggplant mushy. If I make them again I will bread n fry or bake for crispness but I'm not in a rush to make these again. No one in my family liked them. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Four stars with Modification. After microwaving, I breaded the "patties". I used plain bread crumbs and seasoned with paprika, garlic powder, Cajun seasoning and Morton's nature seasons seasoning blend. After breading I pan fried them. for pan frying I did not use butter but PAM cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
YUM! So good. Admittedly, I did cook the eggplant a little differently because it's a mushy vegetable as it is and I didn't want it to get soggy. I sweated the eggplant slices for a half hour or so, rinsed and patted dry, dipped in egg whites and then Panko bread crumbs and baked at 350 for 10 minutes per side. The Panko gave it a nice crunchy exterior and sweating and then baking it kept the eggplant from getting soggy - cooking it in margarine will just cause the eggplant to soak that all up. Great concept - I'd never heard of eggplant burgers before. I'll make them again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I didn't follow the recipe per se, but going with the idea, I peeled & sliced eggplants about 3/4" thick, salted & peppered, then lightly coated in olive oil. I then cooked them in my George Foreman grill. I didn't time them, just checked every few minutes until they were tender, but they really didn't take long at all. I buttered and toasted the inside of hamburger buns on a skillet on the stove (only because my toaster oven recently bit the dust). I sprinkled finely shredded mozzarella cheese on the inside of each bun half (merely because that is what I had on hand). I placed the eggplant slices on the buns, then sprinkled a hot sauce (like tabasco) on them, spread a little honey mustard on them, added sliced red onion and lettuce (no tomatoes on hand, or they'd have been on there, too). I insisted my husband be brutally honest and tell me if he liked them, assuring him I'd fix him something different if he didn't. He said they were "fine", but he did eat two! I thought they were DELICIOUS! From start to finish, the meal was on the table in under a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This was easy to make but it lacked flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I liked this more than I thought I would. With all the fixins' it tastes fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States