Eggplant Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is my new eggplant recipe. It was fabulous. I didn't have feta cheese so I used pepper jack and Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I had to modify this because of some dietary restrictions so some of the other suggestions were helpful. I had never heard of salting the slices, but tried it even though I only had 15 min. to let them sit. I couldn't use egg or bread crumbs; I just drizzled the slices with olive oil and sprinkled them with Italian seasoning. I baked 14 min. then turned them over. I roasted 2 cloves of chopped garlic with onion slices then 7 min. after flipping placed tomato slices, tofu mozzarella cheese, then topped with the onion/garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
bf and i enjoyed this.. i'm always feeling like i undercook eggplant and this was the case again but we didn't mind too much.. maybe it was the size of my eggplant but i was able to get away with only 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs, one egg, half an onion, and one large beefsteak tomato.. didn't measure the cheeses and used jack cheese for the muenster.. using tips from other reviewers i made sure to sweat the eggplant, baked rather than fried, and sprinkled italian seasoning over the tomatoes.. bf said it made him think of little mini pizza's.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akppsu
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Made this for my mom because she LOVES eggplant and it was on sale for $1.79/lb. I made the following changes per other suggestions: I salted the cut eggplant and let it sweat for about 45 minutes, then dried very well on paper towels. In the eggs, I added about 1/3 cup Italian dressing, just to give the eggplant some added flavor. Dredged in seasoned breadcrumbs and baked 12 minutes per side. While eggplant baked, I sautéed the onions and about a tsp of minced garlic. I used a vidalia onion. Used a 9 x 13 glass baking dish and since I had a small eggplant, I had just 1 layer. I layered the eggplant, then the sautéed mixture, and finally 1/2 a container of halved cherry tomatoes. Sprinkled with grated parm, basil, oregano, salt, and freshly ground pepper. Baked at 350° for 20 minutes, covered. Removed foil, add 2 handfuls of shredded provolone and baked 5 minutes longer. Next time, I'll slice the eggplant thicker but that was my fault. I will also try this with zucchini and summer squash mixed with the eggplant. All in all, 2 thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This dish was perfect for my picky eaters! They gobbled it right up and had no idea there wasn't any meat in it. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
While making it I thought this would be a waste of time but i had all the ingredients for it and we needed dinner. In the end no time was wasted bc it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The taste was good but the bottom line is, it was "thin" and a little dry. I made some of the modifications suggested by others (baking instead of frying the breaded eggplant, sauteing the onions and garlic first, and adding basil and oregano). I didn't have muenster so I didn't use it, and really, in a dish that is clearly Mediterranean I would use something like mozzarella, not muenster. In a pan that size I only got a little more than one layer of eggplant, which is too thin. If I make this again, I will either use a 9x9 pan or double the eggplant, and I will use mozzarella with the parmesan and possibly leave out the feta altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Big hit. I have used diced tomatoes instead of sliced tomatoes. Gives it more body. I will not make eggplant any other way. Great for Argue groups too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Wonderful! With the following mods: salt/drain eggplant as other user suggested (I like to weight mine with heavy pan in a colander to get good drainage), bake the breaded eggplant@350°F instead of frying, and layer in ~1lb cooked ground bison or other lean burger. I didn't have enough feta &Munster so subbed mozzarella for feta &Gruyere for Munster. Also added handful of sauteed sweet peppers & sun-dried tomatoes in cheese layers. So great even my kids ate it. A sure keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is reaaly good. I did tweak it a bit, I baked my eggplant slices instead of frying. 7 min per side, while they baked I cooked the onion slices in oil and seasoned with a bit of garlic. after the eggplant was done I scooped the onions onto slices topped with tomatoe,parm,feta and used white chedder (thats what I had on hand) then spinkled each with Italian dreesing and cooked another 8 min. yummy will definetly make again next time I get eggplant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States