Eggplant Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Great way to use up an eggplant when you/ve got a big garden crop. I put it into jars which I plan to keep in the fridge for daily appetizer use. I added a generous shaking of dried basil and liked the added flavor. Ate a small extra serving mixed with some leftover rice for a good lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Very tasty! I didn't have peppers, so I substituted sliced black olives. I also added a few shakes of pepper. I served it over sliced, toasted Italian bread (sprinkled with a tiny bit of olive oil, garlic salt, pepper, basil and rosemary). I'll bet this would be great over chicken cutlets or pasta. Very easy to make, will definitely make it again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of Four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
loved it! made the serving measurements for 10pp because I wanted to try the recipe out first and made just a few minor tweaks to the recipe: - Used 1/2 lemon instead of red wine vinegar since I didn't have any on hand - Used 1/4 cup tomato sauce because I was fresh out of tomatoes -Added 2 minced garlic cloves to the mixture because I'm a freak like that and could never even consider cooking without garlic! ;) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I was very disappointed in this recipe and I'm SOOOOO glad I didn't use the original proportions of ingredients, but only wasted one of each of the vegetables. The mixture come out to be a very strange and unappealing flavor and I think it needs A LOT more work to turn in into a decent appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Liked, not loved it. Served with crackers but didn't receive any positive comments. If I'm going through all those steps for an appetizer I prefer 5 stars! My DH thought it was a salsa, I like the red wine vinegar taste. If you're not sure, make a small batch first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Everywhere I bring this it receives rave reviews!!!! My sister lives in Long Island and she loved it! I am from Glens Falls NY and would love to meet Natalia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I've made this several times and love it. Very easy for a quick meal with flavored rice (e.g. Mexican Rice III antoher great recipe) . I even use the leftovers on top of my salad instead of a dressing. Very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Wow. Really good! I am from the former USSR, and while in the area I lived we make this dish differently, I tried this recipe, and it was so much less work than my usual recipe, and the flavor was so different, even though the ingredients are very similar. I recommend everyone to try it! Really good!!! UPDATE!!! I have found that the longer this sits, the better it tastes!!! In fact, don't bother eating it the day you make it - you will only be disappointed. Further, when I was in a pinch one time, I have substituted canned plain tomato sauce (not pasta sauce) for the tomatoes, and actually like the tanginess of this version better. I definitely recommend it. I have not stopped making my traditional Russian Eggplant Caviars, but this has definitely earned a place on our permanent eggplant rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Delicious!! My 16 month old loves this too. Can't wait for my husband to try it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Truly delicious! Husband was very skeptical at first, but he was easily won over. Had for dinner atop of broiled polenta slices. Will also try on toasted baguette slices with fresh moz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Colfax, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States