Eggplant Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Krasnoyarsk is a Sister City with my hometown Oneonta, NY, so I had to try this out. Natalia has shared a good one! I found I liked it best shaking a little creole seasoning or a drop of Tabasco as a topping to my cracker and eggplant. I'm sure that is not a Russian tradition, but it sure tastes good! ???????!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I LOVED THIS STUFF!! I served it with polenta, first time mushy in a bowl, but the bulk of the polenta I had poured onto a cookie tray & refrigerated, so I took slices, fried them, warmed up the eggplant mixture and spooned it over it. Yummy both ways! The buttery warm polenta enhances the flavor of the eggplant mixture! That and a salad makes a great dinner. I just had one eggplant at the time, so I used 1 tomato, 1 pepper (red cuz I don't like green peppers), about 1/2 an onion, about 1/2 the sugar & salt, but I didn't reduce the liquids by much. I will be making this often! I have eggplants in my garden but I've never been a big fan. I am so happy to have found a way to cook them that I love so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is an excellent recipe.I am South American , from Uruguay and we also make it , we call it "escabeche''. You can serve it over baked slices of baguette, as an appetizer. To store it , just put it in a glass jar with a tight lid and it lasts a long time in the fridge. We also do use the same recipe but instead of eggplants you can use chicken .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
switching the bell peppers for carrots is great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I thought this was okay. The hubs and his friends loved it. No survivors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was absolutely delicious, and so easy (although chopping all the veggies took some time). I used balsamic vinegar as I didn't have any red wine vinegar, but I think the color would be more attractive with red wine vinegar. I ate it with baguette slices toasted in the oven until crunchy. It tasted even better the next day. I think this would be a great choice to take for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Truly delicious! Husband was very skeptical at first, but he was easily won over. Had for dinner atop of broiled polenta slices. Will also try on toasted baguette slices with fresh moz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Colfax, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Delicious!! My 16 month old loves this too. Can't wait for my husband to try it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Wow. Really good! I am from the former USSR, and while in the area I lived we make this dish differently, I tried this recipe, and it was so much less work than my usual recipe, and the flavor was so different, even though the ingredients are very similar. I recommend everyone to try it! Really good!!! UPDATE!!! I have found that the longer this sits, the better it tastes!!! In fact, don't bother eating it the day you make it - you will only be disappointed. Further, when I was in a pinch one time, I have substituted canned plain tomato sauce (not pasta sauce) for the tomatoes, and actually like the tanginess of this version better. I definitely recommend it. I have not stopped making my traditional Russian Eggplant Caviars, but this has definitely earned a place on our permanent eggplant rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I've made this several times and love it. Very easy for a quick meal with flavored rice (e.g. Mexican Rice III antoher great recipe) . I even use the leftovers on top of my salad instead of a dressing. Very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States