Eggplant -- Easy, Good and Tasty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was super easy and really yummy. I made a few adjustments for what I had on had. I left out the Italian dressing and sprayed with olive oil, used Italian bread crumbs to coat with a few extra seasonings, and put chopped green onions on top with the tomatoes. No parmesan in the fridge so I used provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I added some mozzarella for the final broil step. A dab of pesto at the end was really good (I used it instead of Italian dressing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is a great dish. First time ever to try egg plant but it won't be the last. I did as others suggested; bake plain for 10 minutes, then dip in wet mixture (egg, water, some garlic powder), then dry mixture (bread crumbs, cheese, red pepper flakes). Baked for another 8 minutes, then put sliced tomatoes on top and a little more cheese. Broiled for about 3 minutes until cheese was melted. Delicious. Did not use any dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My first eggplant! I followed the directions until I realized that I did not have any Italian dressing. AND I did not have enough breadcrumbs. I did use Panko. I just love the crunch. Some of mine were breaded with regular Panko crumbs and some with Italian crumbs. I sprayed them with olive oil and sprinkled garlic salt on them. When they were done, we tried one and thought they were good but that they needed more cheese. We added a slice of Mozzarella to each one and then put them back under the broiler. This made them even better. I kept saying I thought I should put more tomato on top of them, but my daughter insisted that I didn't need to. But then she got some spaghetti sauce and started dipping her bites into it. That was good too, but I still think more tomatoes would have done the trick. I can't wait to try this again when I have the Italian dressing. I know it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Did NOT TASTE GOOD! Perhaps my eggplant was old. I will try again to see & rate then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This was a huge hit!!! Baked it for 10 minutes first like someone suggested. It was wonderful! Will be a great summertime staple when the eggplant is plentiful in Georgia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
These where amazing!!! my son got to pick some things to add to our garden this year, and eggplant was one of them. We made these with only one small change and that was to add mozzarella cheese to the top. We both agreed they were like healthy pizzas. We will be making these again and again. This recipe made it into my all time favorite folder! (Not and easy thing to do) Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Nice flavor and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Peel/cut off the skin before you slice the eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was my first time making eggplant at home. I used Panko breadcrumbs and left out the Italian dressing, and it was amazing! I put them under the broiler for 2 minutes on each side after baking for 15 minutes. The outside was so crunchy. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States