Eggnog from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was fantastic eggnog. As a safety precaution, we tempered the eggs by first heating 1/2 of the milk and slowly pouring it into the egg and sugar mixture while whisking the eggs constantly. Then proceed with the cold ingredients (and vanilla). This will raise the temperature of the eggs so it is safe for children and pregnant women to drink. That being said, I also left out the rum and served it on the side : ). This received rave reviews from all! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Awesome! I just made a double batch of it. I did change a few things though. I used powdered sugar instead of granulated. I used 2 cups of spiced rum, 2 cups of brandy, and 1/4 cup whiskey. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
My kids LOVED this more than store bought! It also tastes great in Eggnog bread recipes!! Highly recommend and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Made this last Christmas and everyone raved! One change I made was straining egg nog just before serving. I also added extra freshly grated nutmeg in each glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is an extraordinary eggnog recipe, but my guests found it way too sweet. I halved the sugar and I also included the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used this recipe because I needed to utilize 6 egg yolks from a dessert I made. It was my first eggnog, I have made coquito before (and realized I love it more), but this recipe is different from coquito. The texture was creamy and milky. I used less sugar and less rum (white rum), but I think spirit gives an extra kick and makes the eggnog tastier. In my opinion, this eggnog needs more spices, so I added cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg in the bottle. Overall, this is a delicious eggnog and easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
All I can say we had a great party! Everyone loves this eggnog. It went very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gospelmusiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My Husband followed this recipe and it was the HIT of our annual Christmas party...destined to be a classic from now on. Very creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
too sweet for me. thick and smooth but I will reduce the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States