Eggnog from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Yup this is amazing alright! I used evaporated milk instead of whole milk, heated it to temper the eggs, and then added regular milk instead of heavy cream after it had been refrigerated overnight which means you can make it as thin or as thick as you like! A winner with everyone! Also, since we dont have rum in the house I used vanilla vodka (Three Olives brand) and it was sooooo tastey! but honestly, this is great without any alcohol at all :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
really creamy. I will never buy the other store bought eggnog. every body loved it. thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexia-Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is an extraordinary eggnog recipe, but my guests found it way too sweet. I halved the sugar and I also included the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used this recipe because I needed to utilize 6 egg yolks from a dessert I made. It was my first eggnog, I have made coquito before (and realized I love it more), but this recipe is different from coquito. The texture was creamy and milky. I used less sugar and less rum (white rum), but I think spirit gives an extra kick and makes the eggnog tastier. In my opinion, this eggnog needs more spices, so I added cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg in the bottle. Overall, this is a delicious eggnog and easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My Husband followed this recipe and it was the HIT of our annual Christmas party...destined to be a classic from now on. Very creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
too sweet for me. thick and smooth but I will reduce the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillypurrs23
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Awesome recipe! We didn't put in the rum though, we didn't chill it, and we only did three servings. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I personally loved it. I used it for an Eggnog Latte. My mom asked why it didn't taste like Starbucks, I said because they use a concentrate. This is better, although she wasn't head over heels about it, I personally find it very yummy, and will make it during the Holiday season... Oh I did not use the Rum, and I used 2 2/3 cups of Whole Milk, a little less fatty!!! Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
My family loves this recipe, I have followed other users and reduced the amount of rum used. I make this almost every holiday now, my daughter and husband can't have enough! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was a big hit at the New Years Eve party this year. There wasn't a drop left by the end of the night and several people were asking for the recipe. I used 2 cups of sugar and about 3/4 of the bottle of Captain Morgan Spiced Rum. That was perfect for out tastes, but if you prefer it a little stronger, by all means add the whole thing as the recipe states. This is a keeper for sure and will be a staple at all of my holiday gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valders, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States