Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I have been making these cookies since 2000, and every year, they are my biggest request. My family literally beg me to make them. The cookies are simple, but combined with the flavorful frosting filling, are absolutely spectactular! I've made them multiple ways, using either butter or margarine, rum or rum extract in the filling, ditto for the cookie base, and they turn out very good with any combination. I fill these with a pastry bag and star tip - very cute if I do say so myself :) Using real butter (& pastry bag), the filling does get very soft if your hands (or home) are hot, so I just stick the bag in the fridge for a while. I have never had a problem with the frosting "not setting up". Try them - you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Very good cookie!! It's true - it's not very colorful, but the taste was wonderful! If you're having trouble spooning the filling into the cookie, use a decorating tube, or a plastic sandwich bag with a courner snipped out. I had no trouble with the spoon - and no trouble getting my co-workers to eat them, too! Lots of compliments! I'm a bit confused that a previous reveiwer had runny filling...with the given ingredients in the correct amounts, it shouldn't have happened. I'm curious as to what they did to make it "runny"! One thing I was particularly impressed with...whenever a cookie recipe calls for filling such as this, there ends up being either way to much filling, or not enough. This turned out to have EXACTLY the amount needed - no more, no less! How cool is that? :) These would also be excellent to package up and send through the mail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
The frosting makes the cookie on this one. Be sure to follow the recipe and let the cookies cool completely before frosting or your buttery frosting will melt! Oh, and PS, I only got 30 cookies out of this. Thanks, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have been searching for the perfect egg nog cookie recipe for 6 years... and I this is by far my favorite. I have made 2 batches. The dough comes out beautifully. I think next time I make it I will use rum flavoring instead of the vanilla flavoring in the cookie. I did mix the flour in with my KitchenAid on Stir, and baked on parchment paper, and they baked beautifully. I did modify the filling recipe a little. I used 2 tsp. rum flavoring, 2 tsp milk, and 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg, (probably an extra tsp of powdered sugar as well). It makes this frosting taste just like egg nog. So delish! This recipe has won a place in my annual holiday "must have" cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Wow! I just tried one of these and they are amazing! I used a full teaspoon of vanilla but followed as directed otherwise. Used the end of a wooden spoon to make indentation and baked on parchment paper. The icing is lip smacking good! I used Captain Morgan which is a spiced rum and I think it worked very well here. Very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
WOW! I almost didn't try this recipe after reading some of the unfavorable reviews, but I am SO glad I tried it. A couple of things that maybe would have tripped me up might be helpful to others: in step 2 you need to mix the flour in by hand. I was buzzing away with my hand mixer when I caught myself! Definitely make into one inch balls. I thought they were too small, but I was still just shy of yield. I used the end of a wooden spoon to make the indentations, so I wouldn't have to use as much frosting. Lastly, under step 4, mix the ingredients by hand. I started off with my mixer (again) and had to stop myself. Maybe that's why some cooks had runny frosting? So delicious - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I am sort of on the fence about these cookies. Like some others, my main problem is with the cookie base. They turn out too dense--not tender enough for my liking. I think I would look for another sugar cookie recipe to substitute. Also, they are homely-looking specimens. Perhaps rolling them in crushed nuts before baking? I only got 30 cookies from this recipe, but I still needed to double the frosting. Also, it came out very thick, so I brought it to the right consistency with a couple of teaspoons of actual eggnog. Finally, though I did not add extra rum as others did, I still found the resulting cookies very boozy! I felt weird giving them to neighbors with children. So I might cut back or use rum extract next time. With some tweaking, this recipe could be a fine addition to your holiday cookie trays and exchanges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyBugaloo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Talent, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I made some of these to bring to a Christmas party and to work. People at both ends raved about them! They really do taste like eggnog and the "filling" (more like frosting really) has a great texture. I didn't want to use real rum so I used 1/4 tsp rum extract and 1 tbs water. I was worried about them sitting out if I used milk as suggested. The frosting was still creamy and great, I don't think milk would have made a big difference. Also you cannot use a rounded tsp of frosting on each cookie which is obvious when you see them baked. Just eyeball a small dollop large enough to almost fill the thumb indention and it works out well. These are excellent and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This is an excellent cookie. It was this year's favorite among everyone. The filling really does taste like eggnog with the rum and the nutmeg. Noone thought the rum was overpowering. The cookies were very pretty to boot. Try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
These cookies are AMAZING!! They're really easy and they really do taste like eggnog. At first, the rum flavor will be strong (you can always use rum flavoring for the non-alcoholic types) but give them a day and they mellow to this absolutely addictive concoction that is really hard to resist. Just watch the kids after these things have mellowed. Our little relatives went nuts for these...well, so did the big ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States