Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Wonderfully different recipe for the holidays! Certainly a keeper for us. I was afraid I wouldn't have enough filling...but it was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I thought they were just ok....then I served them! People asking for more and more and more. Has a nice kick to them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
i stumbled upon this recipe four years ago and they have become an annual favorite at christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Kinda a bland little cookie with super-sweet frosting. As with other reviewers, I used milk and rum extract to flavor the icing and wonder if real rum would have made a difference. Also, if I made these again I'd double the recipe - I only got about 20-24 cookies the way it's written. Overall, an all right cookie, but I don't think I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This recipe was great! Everyone at work liked them and asked for the recipe. The only thing I did different was I only had coconut rum. And that's what I used. They were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I have been making these cookies since 2000, and every year, they are my biggest request. My family literally beg me to make them. The cookies are simple, but combined with the flavorful frosting filling, are absolutely spectactular! I've made them multiple ways, using either butter or margarine, rum or rum extract in the filling, ditto for the cookie base, and they turn out very good with any combination. I fill these with a pastry bag and star tip - very cute if I do say so myself :) Using real butter (& pastry bag), the filling does get very soft if your hands (or home) are hot, so I just stick the bag in the fridge for a while. I have never had a problem with the frosting "not setting up". Try them - you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
These are delicious and easy to make! They've been a favorite in my house since I first made them about 3 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
These were remarkably easy to make, and taste awesome. I didn't have any nutmeg, so I sprinkled them with cinnamon. I also added a little bit of vanilla soymilk and a second tablespoon of rum to the icing, because the butter made it a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I have been making these since I found the recipe here about 3 years ago. My co-workers and friends have reaped the benefits of enjoying these cookies. They are so yummy. I use real rum of course & everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scrappygirl2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
These were great, and to bring out the eggnog flavor even more, I added 1/2 tsp rum extract and 1/4 tsp nutmeg right into the batter. I melted the butter for the icing, but made it a little to far ahead and it firmed up by the time I was ready to top the cookies with it. So I added a Tbs water, and it was workable then. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States