Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I'm glad I finally made these. I had trouble with my cookies spreading so I made them into 1tsp "bites" instead. I added nutmeg to the dough, and a little extra to the icing. To keep the icing from dripping off the top of the cookie, I made it thicker, and dipped chilled cookies into it. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Very very good, the cookie was very crunchy but the frosting was good. I hope they freeze well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Really good. They have a nice soft texture, the cookie itself doesn't have much flavor so the frosting is key. They spread more than i expected, next time i'll chill the dough before baking, and maybe add some nutmeg to dough for a little extra flavor. **UPDATE** For people having trouble w/ the cookie flattening: the second time i made these i added 1/4Cup extra flour, and put the baking sheet in the fridge after rolling and pressing the thumbprint. Handling the dough may melt your butter, and melted butter = flat cookie. Extra flour and chilling is key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
These cookies were easy to make. They tasted and looked as good as the picture. My family and friends finished the batch in 1 day. I have learned that I need to make multiple batches at a time. Thanks for such an original recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Strayer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Tasted great, but kind of fell apart on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Some of the best sugar cookies I've ever made. I have had many requests for this recipe. They turn out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I made a couple of alterations to this recipe. I added about 3/4 t. nutmeg to the dough which made a nice buttery cookie with an eggnog kick. I didn't care for the icing but I also didn't have rum or extract. I think that the dough with the nutmeg and a simple water, powdered sugar icing would be great. I'll be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was a good cookie recipe. Making it though I did make some changes I felt the cookie needed. Since the dough did not have any eggnog ingredients and just the frosting, I added nutmeg to the cookie and next time would probably add rum extract as well. I think those changes would make this a great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aly D
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
The flavor of these were interesting. My mom didn't think the flavor was strong--that being said, if you don't like eggnog, steer clear of these. My dough didn't come out very smooth, nor did the frosting. The idea was nice but I probably won't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
My dough seemed soft and the cookies didn't hold the thumbprint very well. I used 2 tsp. of rum extract and a little cream for the icing since I didn't have any rum, and I used a pastry bag with a star tip to put it on the cookies. I thought that would be a quick and easy way. The taste of these remind me of a nutmeg log cookie I used to make years ago but these are easier to make. If you like eggnog you'll like these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States