Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Aly D
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
The flavor of these were interesting. My mom didn't think the flavor was strong--that being said, if you don't like eggnog, steer clear of these. My dough didn't come out very smooth, nor did the frosting. The idea was nice but I probably won't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
My dough seemed soft and the cookies didn't hold the thumbprint very well. I used 2 tsp. of rum extract and a little cream for the icing since I didn't have any rum, and I used a pastry bag with a star tip to put it on the cookies. I thought that would be a quick and easy way. The taste of these remind me of a nutmeg log cookie I used to make years ago but these are easier to make. If you like eggnog you'll like these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
The frosting makes the cookie on this one. Be sure to follow the recipe and let the cookies cool completely before frosting or your buttery frosting will melt! Oh, and PS, I only got 30 cookies out of this. Thanks, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These cookies are really good. I doubled the recipe and as a reviewer suggested added rum extract and nutmeg to the batter. I did use Captain Morgan Spiced Rum (2 1/2 tablespoons) in the frosting. Sprinkled with the nutmeg as stated in the recipe. Turned out beautiful. Will give as Christmas gifts along with all the great cookies I made from this site. Thanks Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These are soooo good! It really does taste like a rum and eggnog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These cookies turned out perfect!! I used 1/4 t of rum extract, instead of rum, and they just taste wonderful. I had to bake them for longer then 12 min, but I probably made them huge because I only got 30 cookies out of the dough. I will make these again at Christmas and may add some red or green food coloring to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Woolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I'm not big on frosting, myself, but these were a hit with everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
these are amazing...i made these for my christmas cookie exchange these would also be good with jam in the middle i will keep this recipe forever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by i_luv_being_a_mommy001

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I altered this recipe but would stil recommend it. The cookie is a good base, but I prefer something softer so next time I will use a different thumbprint base. What made the cookie was the frosting...and I think you could do this frosting without the thumprint. I did not use rum instead I used a tbsp of eggnog and then sprinkled a little nutmeg in the frosting mix. I also sprinkled nutmeg on top of the cookie. People who did not like eggnog liked these cookies. Will make again I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
These didn't really taste much like eggnog to me, more almond-y than anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States