Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Wow! I just tried one of these and they are amazing! I used a full teaspoon of vanilla but followed as directed otherwise. Used the end of a wooden spoon to make indentation and baked on parchment paper. The icing is lip smacking good! I used Captain Morgan which is a spiced rum and I think it worked very well here. Very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I colored the filling with yellow food coloring and sprinkled with white snowflake sprinkles. I also added extra rum extract for some added kick. A great addition to my Holiday cookies. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Didn't care for these. They were just okay. I noticed they were the last cookie on the tray as well. Perhaps just me since others really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Good recipe, would be even better with nutmeg in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PASTRYPIXIE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were great and everyone raved about them. I piped the frosting into the thumbprints to make a pretty presentation on the plates we gave away for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Turned out good. Used rum extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I am sort of on the fence about these cookies. Like some others, my main problem is with the cookie base. They turn out too dense--not tender enough for my liking. I think I would look for another sugar cookie recipe to substitute. Also, they are homely-looking specimens. Perhaps rolling them in crushed nuts before baking? I only got 30 cookies from this recipe, but I still needed to double the frosting. Also, it came out very thick, so I brought it to the right consistency with a couple of teaspoons of actual eggnog. Finally, though I did not add extra rum as others did, I still found the resulting cookies very boozy! I felt weird giving them to neighbors with children. So I might cut back or use rum extract next time. With some tweaking, this recipe could be a fine addition to your holiday cookie trays and exchanges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyBugaloo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Talent, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Not very attractive. It seems like the dough balls should be rolled in nuts? The frosting and nutmeg make them delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I'm really interested in making these but wonder what type of rum everyone used? Spiced or light?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Good cookie! Not a visual stand-out, but it'll be great served with a variety of other cookies. I wanted something that wasn't chocolate and these worked out great. You could easily drop a few chocolate chips in the thumbprint after they come out of the oven, then give them a swirl when they melt if you didn't want to use the icing. I have icing left over and I plan to use it on french toast...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States